Oregon law prohibits drivers from driving without insurance. In 2018, there were more 50,000 automobile accidents. Certain minimum coverages are required by the state for auto insurance. You could face legal consequences if you don’t have auto insurance.
The required amount of insurance for your car ensures you comply with all legal requirements and protects you from financial losses due to auto accidents. Insurance can be expensive but it is possible to save money by finding the best auto insurance company .
Oregon requires minimum insurance
Oregon auto insurance is mandatory minimums, just like other states. Oregon law requires that all drivers are covered by basic liability. Basic liability can be defined differently in different states.
Oregon law requires drivers to carry bodily injury coverage for injuries sustained by the other driver or their passengers. Personal injury coverage is required for drivers and passengers. The minimum coverage required by each state is listed below. Higher coverage limits may be required for drivers with DWIs or other offenses.
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per Person and $50,000 per Accident
- Property damage liability: $20,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 per Person
- Uninsured motorists: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Driving without Oregon insurance can result in severe penalties
There may be severe legal consequences for those who are caught driving in Oregon without insurance. The penalties for driving in Oregon without insurance could include a ticket for not having insurance, suspension of your license and impoundment. The laws governing auto insurance in Oregon can change from time to time. This information is not intended to be a legal advice.
The fines that a driver could pay include $130 to $1,000, depending on the court’s decision. In some cases, the court may not hear the case. In these cases, the minimum fine could be $130.
Driver’s licenses and driving privileges may be suspended for upto one year, or until the driver has the required auto insurance and can provide adequate proof of insurance. The registration of the vehicle could also be suspended and the car might be impounded.
Drivers who have their license suspended may need to keep an SR-22 for three years as proof of insurance. These forms are filed by insurance companies to prove coverage for high-risk drivers.
Reinstatement of a license, filing of SR-22 forms and insurance verification are all subject to fees. Drivers will only be responsible for those fees that are applicable to their particular incident. If your car is not impounded you will not be required to pay the fee.
The other driver could sue the uninsured driver if they are at fault for an accident. This could include personal injuries as well as property damage.
Penalties from Oregon’s online verification system for insurance
Oregon uses a random insurance verification system in order to randomly sample the population and verify that drivers have the correct auto insurance coverage. Every month, the state will send a notice to random drivers. They must provide proof of insurance or pay a fee. This could cause you to be charged with driving without insurance.
Failure to respond within 30 days to the notice, failure to prove that the vehicle is insured, or giving false information could all result in license suspension.
Oregon insurance does not cover you if you are involved in an accident
Even if the cars are insured, car accidents can still be very serious. However, they can be even more severe if there isn’t a financial safety net in place. Being caught in Oregon without insurance and causing an injury could prove to be far more costly than buying insurance upfront.
Uninsured driving can result in legal penalties and fines. However, there may be a financial penalty for an at-fault collision. Let’s say you were at fault in an Oregon auto accident and that you don’t have insurance. You could be held responsible for any financial damage to the vehicle, passengers and driver of the other car.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
Falsified information could result in a suspension of your license and possibly worse consequences. While driving without auto insurance may seem like a misdemeanor in some cases, lying to the state about proofs of insurance could be considered fraud.
What is the cost of Oregon car insurance?
The average cost for auto insurance in Oregon for full coverage is $1,346 per year and $610 per year for minimum coverage is $610. The average U.S. cost for full coverage is $1,674 annually, and $565 annually to get minimum coverage. Oregon’s rates for full coverage are slightly lower than the average and slightly higher for minimum coverage.
Is the minimum coverage sufficient for car insurance?
Although the minimum state requirement is sufficient, most people prefer to have more coverage. It can be difficult to determine how much auto insurance you require. There are limits on the amount of coverage that you can get a payout from your insurance policy. Extra coverage is available for those who are concerned about the possibility of having to pay more due to an accident.
Do I need insurance if I’m driving someone else’s car?
You may be covered depending on which auto insurance company you have and what their policy says. This isn’t always true and there are often restrictions. There are policies that can be used in this scenario, such as non-owner auto insurance policies. This may be more practical than adding to another person’s policy if you are regularly using another person’s car.