In most states, insurance is required. Your auto policy can help pay for any damages that you cause in an accident. This could potentially save you financial ruin. Auto insurance is not for everyone. Driving without insurance can result in several fines.
Utah drivers may be interested in understanding the importance of an auto policy. There are many penalties for driving without insurance.
Utah requires minimum insurance
Minimum auto insurance requirements are required in most states. These are the coverages required in Utah:
- $25,000 bodily Injury per Person: This coverage covers injuries to the driver, passengers and other drivers of the vehicle(s), as well as to anyone else who is not in the vehicle you are injuring.
- $65,000 for bodily injury per accident: This amount is what the insurance company will pay to cover injuries to other people per accident.
- $15,000 property damage: This amount is paid by the insurance company for any property you have damaged. This applies to any vehicle or personal property that you damage, as well as property other than a vehicle such a fence.
Utah is a state that does not have fault. Therefore, Utah drivers must also have personal injury protection (PIP).
Utah drivers have the option to purchase additional insurance, even though there are minimal requirements. You can also increase your liability limits and add additional coverages. Higher liability limits are recommended by insurance professionals as they offer greater financial protection in case you are involved in an accident.
You will not be protected for your vehicle if you have minimum coverage. You will need comprehensive and collision coverage to get this. These coverages are likely to be required by your lender if your vehicle is financed.
Utah drivers without insurance face severe penalties
Utah drivers must have auto insurance. If you are pulled over, or involved in an accident, police officers will often ask for proof of insurance. You could face penalties if you don’t have proof of insurance or are uninsured.
Driving without insurance in Utah can be a class A misdemeanor that could lead to fines of up to $1,000. You may also lose your license. To reinstate your license, you must file an SR-22 form. This form is filed by an insurance company to show that you have insurance. Before you can reinstate your license, you’ll need to buy an insurance policy.
Utah’s online insurance verification program charges fees
To help keep uninsured drivers from driving, the Utah DMV has partnered up with Insure Rite, Inc. This system allows the electronic verification of insurance. You could be charged fees if you cannot provide proof of insurance.
In an accident and not having insurance
Uninsured drivers can add another layer of complexity to an already unpleasant experience. Insurance allows drivers to file claims against their insurance company. This may help pay for any damages.
Drivers without insurance can face serious consequences. You could face all the above penalties in Utah. Depending on the severity of the accident, your vehicle could be impounded or even sent to jail. You are also responsible for any injuries or damages you cause. You could be held responsible for the damages you cause if you don’t have insurance. This can lead to lawsuits or even the forfeiture of your assets.
Even if you’re not at fault for an accident, if your proof of insurance isn’t available, your license could be suspended. You will need an SR-22 form to reinstate your license. This could increase the cost of your insurance.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
You could be fined or have your license suspended if you are unable to provide insurance information. False insurance can be considered insurance fraud, and could lead to your license being suspended.
What is the cost of Utah car insurance?
Drivers in the US average $565 annually for minimum coverage auto insurance, and $1,674 per year for full coverage. Utah drivers pay $528 annually for minimum coverage, and $1,306 per year for full coverage. Utah’s minimum coverage is approximately the same as the national average. However, full coverage is significantly less than average.
What additional coverages can I get?
To be able to drive legally in Utah, you must have at least Utah’s minimum coverage. You will need to have collision and comprehensive coverages if you have a loan, lease or purchase of a vehicle. There are many optional coverages that you can add to your auto insurance. There may be additional coverages such as roadside assistance, car rental or gap insurance. Each company has a different range of coverages. Talking with representatives from your company can help you choose the coverages that are right for you.
Table of Contents