Car insurance is essential for being a safe driver as well as protecting your finances in the event you are involved in an accident. Your agent might ask about your PIP coverage if you are looking to purchase a policy or file a claim. Your Massachusetts auto insurance policy must include personal injury protection or PIP insurance. Here’s a quick overview of PIP insurance in Massachusetts. It can help you to pay for your medical bills after an accident.
What is PIP insurance?
Each coverage provided by a Massachusetts car insurance policy serves one purpose. Most drivers are familiar with collision, liability and comprehensive coverage. PIP coverage, however, isn’t as well-known because it is only available in certain states. In states that don’t offer PIP, personal injury protection is similar to “medical payments” coverage. It helps with the costs of medical bills after an accident.
What is the Massachusetts PIP?
Your PIP coverage could be used to pay for medical expenses if you are injured in an accident. PIP coverage can be added to your health insurance policy for many other benefits.
- To provide extra protection for everyone you drive on a regular basis, PIP covers you as well as all passengers in the vehicle.
- The PIP program may help you cover medical expenses such as ambulance services, radiology bills and medications.
- PIP covers more than just basic medical expenses. Your PIP insurance can also provide coverage for lost wages or funeral expenses, as well as expenses incurred due to injuries like childcare costs, lawn care costs and other household costs.
Massachusetts requires PIP.
Massachusetts is a state that is “no fault”. This simply means that each driver’s insurance policy will cover medical expenses incurred as a result of an accident up to the policy limit. The “no fault” method is used by states to avoid lengthy proceedings that could impact the payment of medical care. Property damage is still considered a liability.
Although PIP coverage is not required by all states, it is mandatory in Massachusetts. In Massachusetts, all drivers must have four basic coverages with minimal limits.
- Bodily injury liability coverage up to $40,000 per accident
- Property damage coverage up to $5,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injuries coverage up to $40,000 per accident
- Protection for personal injuries up to $8,000
Personal injury coverage can be provided for you, your passengers, and your household members, according to Massachusetts law. MedPay, also known as optional coverage by insurance companies, can pay for funeral and medical expenses that result from an accident.
These coverages may seem similar, but MedPay remains secondary to the individual’s insurance and the PIP benefit. MA law requires that the first $2,000 of accident-related medical expenses be submitted to PIP. The minimum property and liability coverage limits are listed above, but drivers may choose to adjust for higher limits depending upon their personal circumstances. Massachusetts PIP is only available in the amount $8,000.
What is the cost of PIP in Massachusetts?
Your overall insurance premium will influence the cost of your PIP coverage. The premium cost of your PIP insurance coverage will be affected by your age, type of vehicle, and type of coverages that you have. Your gender is not taken into account in Massachusetts when calculating your car insurance premium.
Your driving record and accident history can have a significant impact on your car insurance premium. It may also impact the type of car insurance company that you will be offered coverage. To get the best car insurance rate, make sure you specify your preferred PIP deductible limit when you request a quote. Also, compare all quotes to determine which one is most favorable. You will save money on your annual premium if you have a PIP deductible. However, your PIP payout would be lower in the event that you are sued.
Important points to remember about Massachusetts’s PIP insurance
- PIP coverage is required for every Massachusetts auto policy.
- Although medical payments coverage is optional, it can be purchased in addition to PIP.
- After a motor vehicle accident, PIP coverage can cover medical expenses, lost earnings, and funeral expenses.
- Your PIP coverage includes you, your vehicle’s driver, passengers in your vehicle and anyone else in your household who is affected by an accident.
Most Frequently Asked Questions
How do I file a PIP claim and when should I?
Each insurance company will have its own way of filing a claim. Most insurance companies allow drivers to file claims over the phone, online, or on their mobile app. After you file a claim, your insurance adjuster will talk to you about the details of the accident. They will ask you to submit your medical bills and records and/or sign a release to allow the insurance company to obtain these records. Talk to your agent if you have any questions about filing a PIP claim.
Is PIP and medical payment the same thing?
Although PIP coverage is similar to MedPay coverage it will interact with each state differently. PIP coverage in Massachusetts is mandatory, while MedPay coverage can be arranged if desired. Both offer coverage for medical expenses incurred as a result of a motor vehicle accident. However, MedPay is considered secondary coverage in Massachusetts. Before you can file a claim for MedPay coverage, you must first submit your medical expenses to your PIP coverage. You may also be eligible for PIP coverage to cover additional costs, such as lost wages or personal services like a housekeeper after major injuries.
Table of Contents