State law requires that drivers in the Ocean State have minimum liability insurance to drive legally. Minimum car insurance in Rhode Island is 25/50/25. However, you can purchase more if necessary.
In 2019, Rhode Island had 59 traffic deaths, many of which were caused by drunk driving. Despite the fact that Rhode Islanders are less likely to drive due to the COVID-19 pandemic it does not mean that there are no risks when you get behind the wheel. Rhode Island has specific requirements for auto insurance that will help to reduce the risk and protect you in case of an accident.
Rhode Island has laws regarding car insurance
We have already mentioned that Rhode Island insurance law requires 25/50/25 liability coverage. What does this mean? Below is a summary of the minimum coverage you get:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 Per Person and $50,000 Per Accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist Property Damage: $25,000 Per Accident
The average cost of Rhode Island’s minimum coverage is $605 per annum, which is slightly more than the $563 national average. Full coverage in Rhode Island costs $1,846 per year, which includes comprehensive and collision insurance. This is lower than the national average of $1738.
Liability insurance is available in Rhode Island
If you cause an accident, you will be responsible for its costs. It does not cover your injuries or damages if you are at fault, but it covers the costs of the other driver.
Is Rhode Island’s minimum car insurance sufficient to adequately cover you? It doesn’t always work. For example, consider what could happen if the accident causes injuries to another driver that need extensive rehabilitation or surgery. This would mean that the $25,000 you have as minimum coverage could quickly run out and you would need to pay for all costs.
Consider property damage from the same accident. The average cost of a new car is more that $40,000. If your car was newer or larger than the average vehicle, such as an SUV or truck or truck, you’d be responsible for any out-of-pocket costs above $25,000.
Many insurance professionals recommend purchasing more coverage than the minimum 100/300/50 to ensure you are adequately covered. You will have to pay more for your premium but it could be very beneficial if you are in an accident.
Is Rhode Island an exception state?
Rhode Island is not among the 12 states that have no-fault laws in the United States. These laws are meant to prevent lawsuits from the courts, so there are limitations on when a victim of an accident can file a claim. Drivers can instead file a claim with their insurer, regardless of fault. They also have personal injury protection insurance to cover those claims.
Rhode Island doesn’t follow this system so there are no restrictions on drivers who want to file a case in court following an accident.
Driving without insurance in Rhode Island carries severe penalties
When you are behind the wheel, you must always have proof of your auto coverage. You will be given a time limit to show proof of your insurance at the DMV. You will have to pay $252.50 for your registration to be reinstated. If you miss this deadline, your registration may be cancelled. Your insurance card will also be required. You may be unable to drive during this time.
Fees for subsequent violations will go up from $500 to $1,000, and driving privileges could be suspended for up one year. A SR-22 certificate will be required for at least three consecutive years. In order to legally drive again, there may be a $50 reinstatement fee.
Additional options for auto insurance in Rhode Island
While liability insurance covers the damages and injuries caused by another driver, optional coverage will protect you and your car from any at-fault accidents. There are many insurance options available in Rhode Island. These include the following:
- Collision – This will protect your vehicle from damage in an accident. The deductible is typically $250-$2,000. It may be necessary to have it if you are leasing your car or taking out a loan. However, it might be less important if you own an older vehicle that is not worth fixing in an incident.
- Comprehensive coverage: This type of coverage is often bundled with collision. It covers non-accident-related mishaps such as theft, vandalism, or natural disasters. Comprehensive will cover the damage if a tree falls on you car during a storm. It also has a deductible, just like collision.
- Insurance for medical payments (medpay). This coverage is available to cover your funeral or medical expenses if you are injured in an accident. You may be eligible if you are struck by a vehicle while you are walking or getting into your car.
- Gap coverage While you may be able to receive a check for depreciated vehicle value following an accident, what happens if your car loan owes more? Gap coverage will cover the difference between what your car is worth and what you owe.
- Towing costs and labor costs: If you require roadside assistance, this type of optional insurance is for you. This insurance will cover towing, jump starts, lockout assistance, and potentially more. To fully understand your coverage, make sure you read your policy.
Questions frequently asked
Which is the best auto insurance company?
Your best choice for car insurance may not be the best for you. It’s worth looking around, reviewing insurance websites, and getting online quotes in order to find the most affordable premiums, financial stability, and outstanding customer service. You can start your search by looking at our list of Top Car Insurance Companies for 2021.
Which company offers the best car insurance in Rhode Island?
Each person’s premium costs will vary based on their driving history, age, and credit score. It is difficult to claim that one company is the cheapest. For the lowest premiums, we recommend that you start with the insurers listed on our Cheapest Auto Insurance in Rhode Island page.