South Carolina’s car insurance laws require that drivers have a minimum level of insurance in order to legally drive. On South Carolina’s 78,000-mile public roads, there are 3.8 millions of licensed drivers. South Carolina has the nation’s second highest fatality rate in car crashes. This highlights the importance of South Carolina residents having comprehensive auto insurance.
South Carolina has laws regarding car insurance
South Carolina, like other states has specific laws that ensure safe driving. South Carolina drivers must have minimum liability insurance, as well as minimum uninsured motorist coverage.
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per Person and $50,000 per Accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist bodily Injury: $25,000 per Person and $50,000 per Accident
- Property damage by an uninsured motorist: $25,000 per accident, with a $200 deductible
- Bodily injury to an underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- Property damage to an underinsured motorist: $25,000 per accident
South Carolina law requires drivers to show proof of insurance when they are asked by law enforcement officers.
South Carolina has liability insurance
These minimums may be similar to other states. However, they might not be sufficient to cover you if your fault is a major accident. If you are found to be at fault and multiple drivers are involved in an accident, the $50,000 limit may not be sufficient to pay all medical bills, lost income, and other expenses. If you don’t have enough coverage, the difference between your limits and what is required to cover all expenses will be your responsibility.
Is South Carolina a no fault state?
South Carolina is an at-fault country. If a driver is found to be at fault, they will be responsible for any property damage or bodily injury costs that result from the accident. The other driver can sue the at-fault driver if the accident causes more damage than their insurance limits. This will allow them to recover any remaining expenses like lost income and medical payments.
Driving without insurance in South Carolina can result in severe penalties
Drivers who are caught driving without insurance coverage in South Carolina can face severe penalties including possible jail time and fines. South Carolina also requires insurance providers to inform the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles of any cancellation of a policy.
Drivers who do not provide proof of coverage to the SCDMV can be subject to license, registration, and plate suspension. Reinstatement can cost up to $400. If an officer pulls over you and you fail to produce proof of insurance, you could be fined $550.
Your first offense for driving without insurance is to buy an SR-22 and pay up to $200 (or face 30 day jail time). You can also have your license suspended.
A second offense entails a $200 fine and mandatory imprisonment time. A third offense entails 45 days to six months in jail. This is in addition to fines and license suspension.
South Carolina offers additional auto insurance options
South Carolina drivers can further customize their automobile insurance policy to ensure sufficient coverage. To increase coverage, there are several options you can add-on:
- Collision: Insurance pays for your vehicle’s repair costs if it is involved in an accident, or if it hits something like a tree branch or pole. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), collision insurance costs in South Carolina are $303.
- Comprehensive coverage: In the event that your car is damaged in an accident or other circumstances, comprehensive coverage will cover all repairs. This covers theft, vandalism and flooding, as well as other types of water damage. According to III, the average cost for comprehensive coverage in South Carolina is $197.24/year.
- Rental car coverage: This is a convenient option that will make it easy to get your car back if you have to take it to the shop for repairs due to an accident. The rental car company can either reimburse you each day or bill the insurance carrier directly under certain circumstances.
- Roadside Assistance: This is an option when your vehicle is not in use. This assistance can be used to help you with things like fuel delivery, replacement or towing, and battery recharge.
Questions frequently asked
Which South Carolina car insurance company is best?
There are many factors that go into choosing the best car insurance. To find the right car insurance for you, consider factors such as financial stability ratings, customer reviews, rates, discounts, and digital assets. Bankrate has evaluated multiple companies in South Carolina, and found that Allstate and Alfa Insurance score well.
Which South Carolina car insurance company is the most affordable?
There are many affordable options available in South Carolina for auto insurance. Bankrate compared many and found that Allstate and Geico offer the lowest rates for South Carolinians. Geico offers minimum coverage at $357 annually, and full coverage at $1,063 per year. Rates will vary depending on many factors such as location, credit score and vehicle.