SR-22 Alaska

Author:

Some Alaska drivers must purchase SR-22 insurance after a DWI conviction or a traffic violation. SR-22 insurance does not cover car insurance policies. An SR-22 is a proof of insurance that you have met the minimum state car insurance coverage requirements.

In some states, SR-22s can be replaced with similar financial responsibility certificates like an FR-44 and SR-21. The cost of SR-22 insurance can differ from one state to the next. We will be discussing the SR-22 laws and fees in Alaska, as well as what you should do to file SR-22.

What is “SR-22 insurance?”

SR-22 insurance is a proof of insurance. This insurance proves that you have the minimum required coverage in your state. Alaska drivers must have at least 50/100/25 coverage. This includes $50,000 bodily injury coverage per person, $100,000 bodily injury coverage for each accident, and $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.

SR-22 insurance is required for Alaskan drivers who are subject to a serious traffic citation, lose their driver’s licence or have lost their license. SR-22 insurance is required in several situations, including a DWI, being caught driving without insurance, or causing an accident that results in death.

ALSO READ  Cheapest car insurance in Illinois

Some car insurance companies do not offer SR-22s for Alaska. You might need to look for an insurance company that specializes in nonstandard insurance in order to obtain SR-22 insurance in Alaska. Once you have found a provider you will need to fill out the SR-22 paperwork. The insurance company will then file it with Alaska DMV. You will need to buy a policy if you don’t have car insurance.

SR-22 Alaska alternatives

An SR-22 certificate is one that certifies you have the correct amount of car insurance in your particular state. SR-22 options are used by some states to verify your coverage in the event of an accident or traffic violation. These are the most common SR-22 options that states offer and how they impact your car insurance requirements.

FormIssued by the StatesMinimum requirements for insurance
SR-22All states except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New, Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and PennsylvaniaMinimum insurance coverage in the state
SR-19California and TexasMinimum coverage required by the state for uninsured motorists insurance
SR-21Florida, Georgia, and IndianaMinimum insurance coverage in the state
SR-22AGeorgia, Texas, and MissouriMinimum insurance coverage in the state
FR-44Florida and VirginiaMinimum coverage for state with higher liability limits
SR-50IndianaMinimum insurance coverage in the state
  • SR-19:SR-19 forms can be used in California or Texas. If a driver is hit by someone without insurance, an SR-19 form must be filed in order to file an insurance case. The submission of an SR-19 has no effect on your car insurance requirements as long as you have the minimum uninsured motorist coverage.
  • SR-21: SR-21 is used in Florida, Georgia, and Indiana following an at-fault automobile accident. An SR-21 is a certificate that a driver had the minimum amount of insurance required by the state on the date of the accident.
  • SR-22A Texas, Missouri, and Georgia require the SR-22A Form. It is essentially the exact same form as a traditional SR-22. If a driver has their license suspended due to a serious accident or notable traffic violation, they will need the SR-22A form.
  • FR-4: Only Florida and Virginia use FR-4 forms. FR-44s look similar to SR-22s but require drivers to have more liability insurance than is usually required with minimum coverage insurance.
  • SR-50:SR-50 forms can only be used in Indiana. To prove insurance coverage, the Indiana SR-50 form must be completed. It should include policy start and end dates.
ALSO READ  Insurance Claims - The Acid Test for Insurance Policies

Non-owner SR-22

Alaskan drivers need to know that even if you don’t own a vehicle, you may still be required by law to have an SR-22. You will need non-owner SR-22 coverage if you get a violation or lose you license while borrowing another vehicle. Non-owner SR-22 insurance has the same requirements as regular SR-22.

SR-22 Alaska insurance costs

SR-22 insurance is not as expensive as regular auto insurance. A filing fee will be charged when you buy an SR-22. It is usually a modest $50 fee. After you have paid the filing fee, your insurance company will send the form to Alaska DMV. To get your license back if it has been suspended you will have to pay a reinstatement fee.

An SR-22 will affect your car insurance premium. High-risk drivers pay the highest insurance rates, so expect your rate to increase–potentially significantly–for as long as the SR-22 has to stay on your driving record.

Drivers in Alaska must also consider the legal and financial consequences of their violation, particularly if they are not insured. If you are convicted of a DUI and you go to court, you will be responsible for your attorney fees and court costs. You may also have to settle with other drivers in the event that you cause an accident.

ALSO READ  Best cheap homeowners insurance in Durham

FAQ

What length of time do I need an SR-22 to work in Alaska?

Alaska has strict regulations regarding SR-22s. The required time frame depends on the type and number of offenses. An SR-22 will be required on your record for most offenses. It should be kept on file for at least three years. The SR-22 will be on your record for three years for refusal and DWI convictions. It is valid for five years for a first offense, ten years for a second offense, and 20 years for a subsequent offense. The SR-22 will remain on your record for the rest your life, unless you have a fourth DWI offense.

How can I obtain SR-22 insurance for Alaska?

Find an insurance company that offers Alaska SR-22 insurance. Look for non-standard providers if your car insurance company doesn’t offer SR-22 coverage. After you have completed the paperwork, your carrier will file the forms to the Alaska DMV.

What is the cost of SR-22 insurance in Alaska?

SR-22 insurance in Alaska is very affordable. Typically, SR-22 insurance costs less than $50. SR-22 certificates do not constitute insurance policies. Your age, claims history, or car type will not affect the cost.

ALSO READ  Tips For Getting the Best Antique Car Insurance

How do I get Alaskan SR-22 insurance at a low price?

There will be no significant differences in the price of SR-22 Alaska insurance between providers. You can however call around to find out which company charges the lowest filing fees.

What will Alaska SR-22 insurance do to my credit score?

An SR-22 on your credit report will not impact your credit score. Although an SR-22 can be linked to your driving record it is not reported to major credit bureaus.