SR-22 in Ohio

Ohio drivers will require an SR-22 at one time in their lives from a licensed insurance company. Contrary to popular belief, an SR-22 certificate is not an insurance policy. This certificate proves that you have the minimum insurance required by the state. It is also necessary for drivers with a poor driving record.

Ohio’s SR-22 requirements are unique. It is crucial to understand the consequences of a suspended driver’s license and how that will impact your driving record, and your car insurance rates. Continue reading to find out more about SR-22s and Ohio. You will also learn how they work and how long they stay on your record.

Ohio SR-22 Insurance

In Ohio, high-risk drivers are required to fill out an SR-22 form in case their driver’s licence is suspended. An SR-22 proves that you have the minimum required liability coverage in Ohio. It is 25/50/25. An SR-22 is required in most cases to get your license back.

Ohio drivers might require an SR-22 in many different situations. SR-22s are required in the following situations:

  • A DUI/DWI charge
  • Reckless or negligent driving can result in a criminal charge
  • Driving without insurance?
  • Multiple traffic violations within a short period of time
  • Multiple at-fault accidents within a short time
  • Failure to pay court-ordered support for children
ALSO READ  What is a rebuilt title vs. a salvage title?

Drivers in Ohio who require SR-22s for their driving must obtain a certificate from an insurer that is licensed to operate in Ohio. Most insurance companies can file SR-22 certificates electronically with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (“BMV”) within a few days of purchase.

Ohio SR-22 Costs

SR-22s do not affect or increase your insurance rates. However, the cost of obtaining the form varies from one state to the next. To file an SR-22 form Progressive, it costs approximately $25. Most cases require drivers to pay the fee upfront before their certificate is filed.

Drivers in Ohio must pay a license reinstatement charge after filing an SR-22. The type and amount of license suspension determines the fees that Ohio drivers must pay to reinstate their licenses. They range from $15-$650. Payment plans are available for those who have paid at least $150 in reinstatement fee and cannot afford the full amount upfront.

Ohio drivers with an SR-22 will likely have higher car insurance rates because of their high-risk driving record. Insurance companies increase monthly premiums to compensate for high-risk drivers who are more likely than others to file insurance claims. The driver must have SR-22 on their record before the rate increases will be effective.

ALSO READ  How Much Umbrella Insurance Do I Need? Clear Data

Ohio Drivers: Non-Owner SR-22s

In some cases, Ohio drivers may need SR-22s even though they don’t own a car. An example of this is if a driver is pulled over for drunk driving and borrows a friend’s vehicle. In such cases, an SR-22 may be required. Drivers in this situation will need to buy non-owner insurance.

Non-owner insurance protects the driver from liability when borrowing a vehicle from a friend or relative. Non-owner insurance typically includes:

  • Bodily injury coverage
  • Insurance coverage for property damage
  • Coverage for medical payments
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist liability coverage

Non-owner insurance assures that the driver meets minimum state coverage requirements. It does not provide protection for the borrowed vehicle. A non-owner policy covers only the driver, not the vehicle. Therefore, you cannot add collision or comprehensive coverage.

Non-owner insurance is available in Ohio. Drivers must first find an auto insurer that offers this type of coverage. Non-owner policies are usually offered by high-risk insurance companies. To purchase the policy, most drivers will need to speak with an agent.

Drivers will need to fill out basic information during the application process. This includes their birth date, address, and driver’s license number. The premium will be calculated based on the individual’s driving record, credit score, and claims history.

ALSO READ  Maine car insurance laws

Most Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the difference between an SR-22 & an FR-44?

The SR-22 forms and FR-44 forms look similar in many respects. Drivers with a history of driving problems or high-risk drivers will need both certificates. FR-44 is only available in Florida and Virginia, but SR-22s can be issued in most states. The major difference between the two certificates lies in the fact that FR-44s typically come with a $100,000 minimum liability limit, which is double the state’s minimum requirement.

What length of time do I have to keep an SR-22?

Ohio drivers will be required to keep an SR-22 record for three years after a first offense. An SR-22 requirement will remain on a driver’s record for five consecutive years for a second or subsequent offense within a five-year period. The Ohio BMV will remove the certificate requirement from the driver’s records after the term expires. The driver’s insurance rate for car will decrease after the SR-22 requirement has been removed. This is in addition to any traffic violations or claims.

ALSO READ  What is sewer backup insurance?

Does my state require SR-22 insurance?

Drivers who lose their driver’s license, are convicted of DUI/DWI, or have multiple points on their driving record must obtain SR-22 forms from most states. Only Florida and Virginia are the exceptions. There, FR-44s will be required in lieu of SR-22s. To find out if SR-22s may be required in your area, you can contact the insurance department in your state.