Drivers convicted of DUI or any other serious traffic offense in Indiana are required to obtain SR-22 insurance certifications. SR-22 insurance does not constitute insurance. It is a proof of insurance that you have met the minimum coverage requirements. The type of violation and state laws can affect the form required.
SR-22 insurance is affordable in Indiana. However, an SR-22 record can negatively affect your auto insurance premium. You may also be restricted from driving, which can lead to additional fees and penalties.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
SR-22 insurance, a special type if proof of insurance, shows that you have the minimum required liability insurance in your state. Indiana’s minimum insurance coverage is 25/50/25. This includes $25,000 for bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 per accident bodily injury coverage, and $10,000 per accident property damage coverage.
Indiana state law states that drivers who are suspended for DUI, insurance-related violations or other serious traffic violations may need to obtain SR-22 insurance. To regain your driving privileges, you will need to purchase an SR-22 insurance policy in Indiana. You also have to pay the reinstatement fees.
Not all car insurance companies offer SR-22 insurance certification. SR-22s can be purchased from non-standard insurance companies, which are insurance companies that offer special coverage for high-risk drivers. After you have paid the filing fee, your insurance company will file an SR-22 electronically with the Indiana BMV.
SR-22 Indiana alternatives
Indiana drivers may need to have SR-22 insurance. The state, type of offense, and repeat violations can all affect the proof of insurance requirements. Drivers in Indiana might be required to buy an SR-50 and an SR-26. We’ll take a look at the most common SR-22 options, their requirements and how they impact your auto insurance needs.
|Form||Issued by the States||Minimum requirements for insurance|
|SR-22||All states except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New, Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania||Minimum insurance coverage in the state|
|SR-19||California and Texas||Minimum uninsured motorist coverage in your state|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia, and Indiana||Minimum insurance coverage in the state|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas, and Missouri||Minimum insurance coverage in the state|
|FR-44||Florida and Virginia||Higher liability limits than the minimum state coverage|
|SR-50||Indiana||Minimum insurance coverage in the state|
- SR-19 – SR-19 Insurance is only available in California or Texas. To file an insurance claim if they are hit by an uninsured motorist, a driver must file an SR-19.
- SR-21 If a driver causes an accident that results in injury or death, or property damage exceeding $1,000, an SR-21 is required by Florida, Georgia and Indiana. This document certifies that you had at least the minimum amount of insurance at time of accident.
- SR-22A This form can be found in Georgia and Texas, as well as Missouri. It is essentially identical to the SR-22A, which is required often after your license has been suspended.
- FR-44:FR-44 insurance can only be found in Florida or Virginia. This form is very similar to the SR-22 but drivers must have more liability insurance than is usually required.
- SR-50:SR-50 forms only are available in Indiana. To verify proof of current insurance coverage following a traffic violation, the Indiana BMV uses SR-50 Forms.
Indiana drivers may be required to buy non-owner SR-22 in some instances. Non-owner SR-22 insurance is for drivers who don’t own a car but are convicted of a serious traffic offense or lose their license because they borrowed someone else’s vehicle. Non-owner SR-22 insurance is the same as a standard SR-22. Even if you don’t own a car, non-owner SR-22 coverage is legally mandatory.
The SR-50 form is one of the most popular SR-22 options in Indiana. After you are convicted or involved in an accident, an SR-50 form will be required. To verify your insurance coverage, the BMV uses the SR-50 form. This form, assuming you had insurance coverage at the time the incident occurred, will not affect your car insurance rate nor your insurance requirements.
Indiana insurance rates SR-22
In Indiana, SR-22 insurance is very affordable. The filing fee that the insurance company charges for the form is $50, usually. Drivers can pay for an SR-22 through other means.
Drivers who have their license suspended must first pay a reinstatement fee. To get your license back after a first offense, the fee is $250. After two or more offenses, it increases to $500.
Your car insurance premium will also be affected if you have an SR-22 record. High-risk drivers are subject to the highest car insurance rates. As such, expect your rate increase significantly if the SR-22 is still on your driving record.
What length of time do I need an SR-22 Indiana?
For a first offense or second, an SR-22 must be on your record in Indiana for three years. An SR-22 must be kept on your record for five years after a third or more offenses. The type of offense does not affect the time that you must keep an SR-22 in Indiana.
How can I obtain SR-22 insurance for Indiana?
In order to obtain SR-22 insurance, you will need an insurance company that issues SR-22 certificates. Look for non-standard insurance providers if your personal insurer does not offer this type. The form is completed by the insurance company. Your SR-22 will be filed with the BMV. It will stay on your file for three to five years.
What is the Indiana cost of SR-22 insurance?
Although the average filing fee for an SR-22 is not high in Indiana, it can vary. Unlike regular premium car insurance, the cost for SR-22 insurance does not depend on your credit score, claims history, or vehicle type.
Are there any places in Indiana that offer cheap SR-22 insurance?
If you are looking for cheap SR-22 insurance, it is worth speaking with providers in your local area who offer this type. Talk to an agent to determine the cost of filing fees and the lowest amount.
Is Indiana SR-22 insurance automatically renewed?
Typically, no. Usually, you are required to renew your SR-22 after the policy period ends. This applies to every year you have to have the certificate on file. You may be subject to a penalty if you fail to renew your SR-22 within a specified number of days prior the expiration date.