Are you required to obtain an Iowa SR-22 recently? You should be aware that SR-22 insurance does not exist before you search the Internet for “Cheap SR22 Insurance in Iowa” or “sr22 Iowa insurance”. An SR-22 certificate is not a type or add-on to insurance. It is essentially a certificate that confirms you are insured. It is often required by states and DMVs after a conviction or serious driving offense.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
An SR-22 is proof of insurance. This document proves that your state has at least basic liability. Iowa requires that you have at least a 20/40/15 insurance policy.
- $20,000 per person to treat bodily injuries
- $40,000 per accident to treat bodily injury
- $15,000 for property damage
If you have insurance, contact your provider to request that the state send the form. Your next bill will likely include a $15 to $35 filing fee. However, your job is complete after that.
You should shop around to find a company that will insure you if you don’t have insurance. While local providers may not be able to meet your needs, they might have problems with you.
SR-22 Iowa alternatives
Iowa does not offer any other options if you need to file SR-22. However, there are many variations across the country. These are the most commonly attached to driver’s records.
|Form||Issued by the States||Minimum requirements for insurance|
|SR-22||All other states, except Delaware, Kentucky and Minnesota.||Standard liability|
|SR-19||California and Texas||Standard liability|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia, Indiana||Standard liability|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas and Missouri||Standard liability must be paid, but six months of insurance must also be prepaid.|
|FR-44||Florida, Virginia||Double liability|
- SR-19: Both Texas and California use an SR-19. California requires that uninsured motorist coverage be obtained from the at-fault driver. It’s a legal agreement between the injured party and the at-fault driver in Texas.
- SR-21: This is used for verifying that a driver was insured before an accident.
- SR-22A: Similar to an SR-22 but used most often for repeat offenders. Prepayment is required for 6 months.
- FR-44 is used to verify insurance. It usually requires double liability.
- SR-50: Verifies financial accountability after a driver has committed certain violations.
If you don’t have a vehicle, a non-owner policy can help you meet your SR-22 requirements. Non-owner policies allow you to keep your driver’s license while still borrowing or renting a car. Non-owner policies are also cheaper than regular policies, because you’re not insuring a vehicle.
Many national providers offer policies for non-owners. While rate shopping, make sure that they offer SR-22s.
SR-22 Iowa insurance costs
Iowa law may require you to pay $200 civil penalty and $20 reinstatement fee if your license has been suspended.
It will cost you between $15 and $35 to get your insurance company filing an SR-22. Prices vary by company. This is a once-off fee.
The true cost of an SR22 is determined by the reasons the SR-22 was created in Iowa. Rising insurance rates are not due to SR-22s but DUIs and other at-fault incidents. These events will cause an increase in your car insurance.
What length of time do I need an SR-22 Iowa?
After your driver’s licence has been reinstated, it is necessary to keep an SR-22 file for at most two years. If you are convicted of another offense within the two-year period, a judge could extend or reset your clock.
How can I obtain SR-22 insurance for Iowa?
If you have insurance, an SR-22 can be obtained by calling your provider and asking them for the form to be sent to Iowa’s Department of Transportation. If you are not insured, you need to find a provider that is willing and able provide SR-22 coverage. While this may be difficult for local providers, it shouldn’t be a problem with national carriers. (Read: Top Car Insurance Companies in 2021
Iowa SR-22 insurance: How much?
The filing fee is the first cost associated to an SR-22. You can expect to pay between $15 and $35 depending on the provider.
Your driving record is the second factor that will impact your SR-22 cost. Your driving history will determine the reason your insurance rates rise, regardless of the reason. If you have been convicted of DUI, expect to see your insurance rates rise by at least 5%. However, if you have a clean driving record (meaning no DWIs), insurance rates will increase by 5% .
Can an SR-22 be issued from another state?
Yes, you can. If you are, your policy must meet the minimum requirements for both Iowa and the state which issued the SR-22.
What happens if my insurer cancels my policy
If you cannot find another provider, your vehicle registration and license will be cancelled. In this case, you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee.