Are you aware that Utah requires SR-22 insurance? If you’re looking for “SR-22 insurance”, it is important to understand that SR-22s do not constitute insurance. They are just proof of insurance forms submitted to the DMV from your insurance provider.
There are many forms that are used in the country. Some are very similar and some have subtle differences depending on where they are located. These forms are detailed and expensive. They can also affect your car-insurance rate.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
A Utah SR-22, which is not a type or insurance, is a document that the DMV keeps on file. It legally proves that you have met your state’s minimum insurance requirements.
Utah law requires that all drivers have a 25/65/15 policy. This means that insurance providers must provide coverage up to:
- $25,000 per person to treat bodily injuries
- $65,000 per accident to treat bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident in property damage
An SR-22 in Utah is proof that your car insurance meets or exceeds a policy of 25/65/15.
The form type might be slightly different if you reside in another state.
SR-22 Utah alternatives
|Form||Issued by the States||Minimum requirements for insurance|
|SR-22||All other states, except Delaware, Kentucky and Minnesota.||Standard liability for each state|
|SR-19||California and Texas||Standard liability|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia, Indiana||Standard liability|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas and Missouri||Standard liability must be paid, but six months of insurance must also be prepaid.|
|FR-44||Florida, Virginia||Double liability|
- Texas– An agreement for an installment between an at-fault driver (or a injured party) where the at fault driver agrees to make monthly payments of a set amount. The state’s DMV keeps a copy of the signed agreement.
- California– Verification that there is no insurance required in order for uninsured motorist coverages to take effect.
- SR-21 is Requires after an accident in certain states to confirm that you have insurance. This is often requested following a crash that results in bodily injury, death or property damage exceeding $1,000. An SR-21 must digitally be delivered to the department of motor vehicles within minutes after an accident.
- SR-22A is Requirement after a second offense for driving uninsured. Some states require drivers to prepay for a liability insurance policy for up to six months and to have an SR-22A file for up three years.
- FR-44: This is a proof of insurance that proves financial responsibility (hence, the ‘FR). It is required often after a DUI or DWI accident. The minimum liability requirements are often twice as high.
- SR-50 This form is attached to your policy and verifies that you meet your state’s minimum liability requirements. This form is similar to the SR-22 but it is required only in Indiana if you are convicted of a DWI or DUI or have had too many at fault accidents.
You may be required to buy a ‘non owner’ policy if you do not own a car but still need insurance to fulfill an SR-22 request. Because you are not covering any one car, a non-owner policy can often be cheaper than a standard policy.
This may be required in two situations:
- Renting a car is a common option, but you don’t have a car.
- Your state requires you to buy car insurance to maintain your license (because you may have been convicted of a past DWI or another offense). However, you don’t currently own a car.
SR-22 Insurance Prices
Insurance companies usually charge a filing fee. There are many rates, but you can expect to pay a flat fee of $25.
While an SR-22 certificate is not insurance, it can have an indirect effect on your insurance rates. The amount of this will depend on the crime that led to it being necessary. For example, a DUI can dramatically increase the cost of insurance companies for full and minimum coverage.
It doesn’t matter how clean your driving record is, it will determine how much coverage you need each month.
SR-22As as well as SR-22s have a lot in common. You must follow the SR-22As for three years, unless you are ordered by a court or DMV. You could lose your vehicle registration and license if you don’t comply. Both guarantee current and future coverage to the state.
An SR-22A means that you will need to prepay your insurance premium for six months. This can be very costly if your premium has already been high. An SR-22A differs from an SR-22A in that it is required for repeat offences of driving without insurance (DWI). Although it is not common for it to be required after another offense, it does depend on the severity of the offense.
A judge might give you a second chance if you don’t comply with a prior judgment. Instead of suspending your vehicle registration and license, he may switch the requirement to an SR-22A.
You want an SR-22, because you can meet your obligations by making only monthly payments instead of six months.
What length of time do I need an SR-22 to work in Utah?
It all depends on whether the judge ordered that your SR-22 be kept active for a certain period. In Utah, it is usually three years. Your offense might affect how long you need an SR-22. However, in Utah, three years is the norm.
If the DMV mandates it, this is how long you will need it.
You may need to complete an active SR-22 form if you are convicted of another offense.
How can I obtain SR-22 insurance for Utah?
SR-22 is not insurance. It is proof of insurance. So, think of it more as a certificate than an insurance policy. An SR-22 form can only be obtained from a car insurance provider, usually the one you have insured with. Your provider will send your SR-22 to DMV upon request once you have been insured.
What is the cost of SR-22 insurance in Utah?
Typically, SR-22 forms cost less than $50 to file. Although the form does not impact your insurance rate, it can have an effect on your insurance. The cost of any premium is affected by your driving record. Most providers will charge you significantly more if you have a long history of coverage lapses and a DUI.
What driving offenses are grounds for an SR-22?
SR-22s may be required for certain reasons. These are:
- Driving without insurance
- Driving without a valid driver’s license
- Inability to pay court-ordered child support
- Too many driving offenses in a short period of time (Example: Five speeding tickets in half an year).
- Too many collisions or accidents at fault
Most judges will require an SR-22 to be used for DUIs or DWIs.
Who is allowed to require a driver have an SR-22
A court can order an SR-22, or the DMV.
You will receive a formal letter from the DMV if you are required to obtain an SR-22. It will also state how long you must comply.
Your judge will inform you if you are required to obtain an SR-22 in court. Even if the court requires it, the SR-22 must still go to the DMV. It is not necessary to send it elsewhere.
You will lose your vehicle registration and your license if you don’t get insurance to send you an SR-22.