All drivers are now prohibited from text messaging. This includes the District of Columbia, Guam and 37 other states. These laws have been enacted twelve times in 2010. Ten states and the District of Columbia have laws that prohibit drivers from using their handheld mobile phones while driving.
Distracted driving is a crime in Delaware. These laws are intended to make driving safer in Delaware.
“This law will improve safety for all road users. We want to reduce distraction-related crashes by reducing the number drivers who text or e-mail while driving. Governor Markell stated that just as we are focusing our efforts as a state to create more jobs, so we want drivers to keep their eyes on the road.
Drivers can use a headset, speakerphone, or any other hands-free device while driving to talk on their cell phones. The bill allows drivers to dial a number or activate the handsfree device. However, the driver must put down the phone while they talk. Rep. Scott stated that the new law removes the phone from the driver’s hand, which eliminates a major distraction.
There were 230 crashes that involved the use a cell phone in Delaware in 2009. As of last month, there have been 94 accidents involving the use of a cellphone and 17 others involving texting in 2010. Untold other incidents go unreported
- All drivers are prohibited from using handheld devices (Primary law).
- Bus drivers are prohibited from using their cell phones (handheld or hands-free) (Primary law).
- Primary law: Ban all cell phones (handheld and hands free) for novice drivers
- All drivers must be banned from texting (Primary law).
An officer may ticket a driver under a primary law without citing any other traffic violations. An officer cannot issue a ticket under a secondary law if the driver was pulled over for another offense (e.g. speeding em>).
A $50 fine is assessed for the first offense, and $100 fines are applied for every additional offense. The maximum fine is $200. The violation will not result in any points and the driver’s record will not be affected.
These restrictions do not apply to law enforcement or emergency vehicles that are performing official duties. Individuals can also inform authorities about a possible threat, hazard, or medical condition that needs immediate attention under the law. This law allows you to report suspicious drivers who are driving in an unsafe, careless or under the influence a controlled substance.
The right auto coverage in Delaware will protect you against reckless or unsafe drivers. Uninsured drivers can cause serious injuries to passengers, their vehicles and themselves.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage is not mandatory in the state of Delaware. Although drivers have the right not to carry this coverage, it is strongly recommended.
Delaware is a No Fault state. Your insurance company pays for all injuries sustained in an auto accident.
Insurance claims that involve physical damage to your vehicle or its contents are not based on fault. These claims can be handled the same as in a state that has a tort system. You can file a claim against at-fault drivers insurance, or you can look to your collision insurance.
Insurance companies can charge you different rates for the same coverage in a competitive market. You may be able to save money on your auto policy by shopping around. Make sure you consider the services offered by the company.