Utah’s car insurance laws require that every driver in the state has minimum liability coverage of 25/65/15. Utah is one of the 12 no fault states in America. Therefore, Utah drivers must purchase minimum $3,000 of personal injuries protection coverage (PIP).
Penalties may be imposed if you fail to have the minimum coverage required in Utah. Importantly, you should also know that the minimum coverage might not be sufficient to cover you for serious accidents. An effective and robust insurance policy in Utah includes optional insurance like collision and comprehensive.
It is easy to find the best Utah auto insurance and it doesn’t have to be expensive. The average cost of a minimum coverage policy for Utah is $483. This is lower than the $563 national average. Utah’s average cost for full coverage (comprising collision and comprehensive) is $1,290. The national average is $1738.
Utah’s car insurance laws
Utah insurance requirements require liability coverage of 25/65/15. Here’s a breakdown:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability: This means that even if your coverage is minimal, your insurance will cover injuries to a single person who was in another car involved in an accident at fault.
- $65,000 for total bodily injury: If more than one person is hurt, your insurance will cover up to $65,000.
- $15,000 Property Damage Liability: Your insurance will pay up to $15,000 for the repair or replacement or any property damage you cause, including fences or light posts.
- $3,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP: PIP covers hospital costs, rehabilitation, lost wages and other losses resulting from an accident. It does not matter who was at fault. You can also use it to pay for funeral expenses.
Utah has liability insurance
The minimum Utah car insurance you are required to have pays for the accident costs of the other driver, as well as a minimum amount for PIP for your medical expenses. However, this may not be sufficient coverage in an accident.
For example, let’s say that the accident causes internal injuries to the driver of another car. This could result in long hospital stays and surgery. You may find that your insurance payouts are quickly exhausted if you have less than $25,000 in BI coverage.
The minimum PD coverage would not cover you if your accident involved the total loss of a year-old Lexus. It is generally a good idea, in general, to get as much coverage as possible — such as 100/300/50 — to better prepare for unexpected and unwelcome expenses.
Is Utah a no-fault state?
Utah is one of twelve no-fault states. These laws were created to prevent people from filing lawsuits following an accident, unless they are absolutely necessary to recover losses. You can file your claim with your company in a state that is no-fault, such as Utah. It doesn’t matter who was at fault for an accident. The claims are quickly paid.
Personal injury protection coverage is required in no-fault states. Sometimes called no-fault insurance. PIP covers medical expenses, lost earnings, funeral expenses and any other costs that may be associated with an accident.
Utah drivers without insurance face severe penalties
Persons convicted of failing to insure a vehicle face suspension of their registration. For a first offense, fines start at $400 and go up to $1,000 for each subsequent offense within three years. They could also lose their license.
A driver must present an SR-22 certificate, or any other proof of insurance to reinstate their registration. The reinstatement fee is $100.
Utah offers additional auto insurance options
Utah insurance laws permit drivers to purchase additional car insurance in addition to the mandatory liability and PIP coverage. These are some of the most common insurance options:
- Collision – This insurance type covers damage to your car in the event of an accident. It may be necessary if you have a vehicle loan or lease. A deductible is usually $250-$2,000.
- Comprehensive coverage: This type of coverage is often combined with collision. It pays out for non-accidental mishaps such as theft, vandalism or natural disasters (for instance, if a tree falls onto your car). You will also need to pay a deductible.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 6.8% of Utah’s drivers are on the road illegally without insurance coverage. This type of insurance will cover the costs associated with an accident if you are in an accident with one.
- Gap coverage In the event that your car is totaled you will be paid by your insurance (if you have collision protection) for its depreciated value. This optional coverage will cover the difference between what you owe on a car loan and what you received.
- Rental reimbursement: If your car has been damaged in an accident, this will cover the rental of the car.
- A new car replacement policy: This coverage allows you to buy a new car with the same make and model as your older car.
Questions frequently asked
Which is the best Utah car insurance company?
Utah drivers have a variety of insurance companies that offer solid, quality policies. Bankrate’s Best Car Insurance Companies In Utah list will help you find the right one. Our list includes companies that offer superior service and extensive policy options at affordable prices.
What is the best car insurance in Utah?
There is no one company that is the best for everyone. The make and model of your vehicle, credit score, marital status, and other factors will all impact your premium rate. Our Cheapest Utah Car Insurance 2021 listing is a good place to begin your search for an affordable policy.
Is Utah’s minimum car insurance sufficient to provide adequate coverage?
If you are in an accident that results in serious injuries or property damage, it might not be possible. You could also be responsible for paying out-of-pocket for your car if it is damaged or totaled in an accident unless you have collision and comprehensive coverage. Consider purchasing additional liability such as 100/300/50 if you have the funds.