It is essential to have Virginia car insurance. Data from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), showed that 180 people were hurt in car accidents in the state in 2019. In Virginia, there were 827 deaths in that same year.
Virginia drivers must have car insurance to drive legally. It doesn’t matter how many times you drive or how old your vehicle is. Virginia penalizes drivers who do not have car insurance. This article will cover everything you need about Virginia’s car insurance laws.
Virginia has laws regarding car insurance
Although Virginia’s car insurance laws are straightforward, there are some unique laws worth noting. It is essential to fully understand the Virginia car insurance requirements before you buy insurance.
- Minimum coverage. Drivers in Virginia must have minimum coverage, which includes 25/50/20 coverage for liability.
- Virginia law allowing drivers to drive their car without insurance. The Virginia DMV charges $500 and expires after the vehicle’s registration has expired.
- Insurance documentation and proof of insurance: drivers need to have proof of insurance on them at all times.
- Insurance verification: Virginia’s insurance companies must notify the DMV whenever a policy for a vehicle is opened or cancelled. If the DMV holds a record that a vehicle is not insured, the owner must be notified.
Virginia Liability Insurance
Virginia’s insurance laws require that all drivers have minimum coverage, except for those who pay an uninsured vehicle fee. Virginia’s minimum car insurance does not include liability coverage. This is the coverage that you need:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per individual
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
Virginia’s cheapest insurance is liability-only. Insurance companies recommend that Virginia drivers buy more coverage than is necessary. It is not guaranteed that Virginia’s minimum requirements for insurance will cover all costs of an accident.
Imagine, for example, that you cause an accident and that the other driver is rushed to the hospital. Their medical bills will cost them $100,000 after treatment. The minimum amount of bodily injuries liability insurance you have would mean that you would need to pay $75,000 out-of pocket.
Minimum coverage insurance does NOT provide protection for your vehicle. The damages you cause to your vehicle if it is lost control and crashes into a tree will not be covered. You would be responsible financially for buying a new vehicle if your vehicle is damaged beyond repair.
Is Virginia a No-Fault State?
Each state has its own car insurance laws. These laws govern how insurance companies will cover injuries sustained in an accident. There are two types of fault states: no-fault and fault. The Commonwealth of Virginia is a non-fault state.
A driver’s insurance company will pay for their medical bills in a no-fault country. This applies regardless of who was at fault. The at-fault driver’s insurance covers the losses of the other driver in a state that is fault.
Virginia Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
It is illegal to drive without Virginia car insurance. You can’t drive without insurance in Virginia if your coverage is canceled while your car is registered.
Virginia residents who choose the uninsured motor car option must pay the $500 annually fee. The fee must be paid by the DMV in order to suspend the driver’s licence and cancel the registration. Drivers must pay $600 to the state to restore their license and provide an SR-22 certificate.
Auto insurance companies that specialize in high-risk coverage can provide SR-22 forms. Typically, the SR-22 requirement in Virginia will remain on your driving record for three-years. Drivers may also be required to pay an additional fee to reinstate their license after the three-year period.
Additional Auto Insurance Options in Virginia
Virginia drivers often choose to add on additional coverage to their car insurance for greater protection. These are the most popular Virginia add-on policies:
- Collision insurance. collision insurance covers your vehicle’s repair costs after an accident, or if it is struck by a stationary object. The average cost for collision insurance in Virginia is $305.61/year.
- Comprehensive insurance. comprehensive insurance covers vehicle damage not caused by an accident. The average comprehensive policy costs $146/year.
- Roadside Assistance:roadside assistance is a very popular insurance option that includes vehicle repairs, towing, fuel delivery, and battery services. This endorsement is offered by most Virginia car insurance companies.
- Rental car coverage: rental vehicle reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if your car is damaged or stolen. This coverage is often included in full coverage insurance policies by some insurance companies.
Most Frequently Asked Questions
Which Virginia car insurance company is best?
Every driver’s situation and insurance needs will determine the best Virginia car insurance company. Drivers should shop around to find the best company that meets their needs for affordability, coverage options and customer service.
What is the cost of car insurance in Virginia?
The average cost for full coverage car insurance is $1,259 per annum and the $414 average cost for minimum coverage insurance is $414 annually. Each driver will pay a different rate depending on their zip code, age and credit history, as well as the type of vehicle they drive.
What is SR-22 Insurance?
SR-22 is a certificate that shows you have the minimum state-required insurance coverage. To reinstate their license, Virginia drivers who have their license suspended must obtain an SR-22 Certificate. License suspensions in Virginia are common due to DUI/DWI, multiple at-fault accidents or being caught without insurance.