As a driver, you are legally required to have car insurance in order to drive in the state of Missouri. Car insurance protects you and others on the road by providing financial coverage for medical bills, property damage, and other possible costs that may arise from an accident.
But what if you don’t have car insurance? It’s important to understand the consequences of failing to maintain car insurance in Independence, MO so that you can make sure you stay compliant with the law. In this blog post, we will explore what happens if you fail to have car insurance and what the fines are for doing so in Independence MO.
What is the fine in Independence, MO for failing to have insurance?
The short answer is that the fine in Independence, MO for failing to have insurance is $200. However, this does not take into account the many other possible fees and penalties that may be assessed by the court. If you are caught driving without insurance in Independence, MO, you will be subject to a $200 fine. In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days and you will be required to obtain SR-22 insurance.
What are the requirements for car insurance in Missouri?
In Missouri, all drivers are required to maintain liability insurance on their vehicles. The minimum amount of liability coverage required is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for property damage. Drivers who do not maintain liability insurance on their vehicles are subject to a fine of $200-$500.
How can I get insurance if I don’t have a car?
If you live in Independence, Missouri and do not have a car, you can still get insurance through the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan (MAIP). The MAIP is a state-sponsored program that provides insurance to drivers who are unable to obtain coverage through traditional means. To be eligible for coverage through the MAIP, you must:
-Be a Missouri resident
-Have a valid driver’s license
-Be at least 19 years old
-Not have been refused insurance by two or more companies in the past 60 days
If you meet these eligibility requirements, you can contact the MAIP at 1-866-678-4697 to begin the application process.
How much does car insurance cost in Missouri?
According to the Missouri Department of Insurance, the average cost of car insurance in Missouri is $741 per year. However, this amount can vary depending on a number of factors, such as your age, driving record, and the type of vehicle you drive.
As we’ve seen from this article, the fine in Independence MO for failing to have insurance can be quite expensive. While it may not seem like a significant amount of money, it is important to remember that the cost could add up quickly if you find yourself needing to pay multiple fines. Therefore, it is essential that all drivers in Missouri maintain proof of valid automobile and health insurance coverage at all times so they can avoid any costly fines or penalties.