You’ve probably been in a car accident. The adrenaline rushes and tensions rise at the accident scene. You may be dealing with insurance adjusters and car repairs days later. All the while trying to heal if you were hurt. If the accident was complex, like a hit and run, this stress can be even greater.
Nearly 14% drivers in Kentucky are not insured, which may make them more likely leave the scene after an accident. Bankrate’s research on hit-and run laws in Kentucky and the insurance premiums might help you to prepare in case you are involved in a hit & run. You might feel more confident driving if you know what to do following a hit-and run in Kentucky.
Hit-and-run is when someone involved in a motor car accident leaves the scene. This happens most often when the driver is at fault for the accident and wants to get away from any liability.
Hit-and-run accidents are very serious. According to the American Automobile Association (AAA), a hit-and run occurs approximately every 43 seconds across the United States. Hit-and-run crashes caused 23 deaths in Kentucky in 2016. Statistics show alarmingly that 21% of hit-and run accidents cause pedestrian deaths across the country.
Kentucky hit-and-run laws
Kentucky law states that any motor vehicle accident causing injury, property damage or death must be stopped by the vehicle operator. You can only take responsibility if you cause property damage, but not another driver, such as hitting a car parked in a lot.
You could be fined, put on your license points, and have your insurance premiums increase if you leave the accident scene. You may lose your license, or face criminal charges that could lead to jail time.
What impact do hit-and-runs have on car insurance rates in Kentucky
Your insurance premiums will increase if you are found to be at fault for an accident. Kentucky hit-and run accidents are serious offenses. Your premium will likely rise if you cause an accident in Kentucky.
The average cost of full-coverage car insurance in the United States has more than doubled after a hit-and run. Drivers who cause a hit and run could be subject to an average premium of $4.401 per year, due to Kentucky’s higher insurance premium. This means that hitting-and-run accidents in Kentucky can increase your annual premium by more than $2,200. A standard at-fault accident will only cause an average increase of just over $1,000.
Here are 4 things to do following a hit-and run in Kentucky
If you ever become a victim of a hit-and run in Kentucky, knowing what to do can help you prepare. You should make sure everyone is safe, get medical attention for any injuries, and, if possible, make observations to help the police locate the driver responsible.
You might consider the following steps after a hit-and run:
- Assess yourself and others for any injuries. If anyone is hurt, call emergency services immediately. Although you may feel fine initially, it is worth seeking professional medical advice.
- As they leave the scene, observe the vehicle responsible for the accident. You should note any identifiable information such as the vehicle type, license plate number, driver description, bumper stickers, or any other markings on the vehicle. It might be useful to write down this information.
- Notify the police about the accident. Once you have assessed the situation, it is a good idea to call for assistance and send the police to the area. A law enforcement officer will not only create an official report that could help with an insurance claim but may also be able locate the at-fault party.
- Gather your evidence. It can be difficult to find evidence at the scene of an accident. It is possible to collect your own evidence, but it may not always be possible. Photograph your vehicle and its surroundings, collect contact information for witnesses, and note any public places that may have video of the accident.
Is insurance available to cover hit-and-run?
Your insurance policy’s liability coverage covers you for any damages you cause in a hit-and run accident.
Your own insurance policy may be able to pay the property damage if you have certain coverages. Your deductible may be covered and your vehicle repaired using collision coverage. Your uninsured motorist insurance or personal injuries protection (PIP) could also help you pay for your injuries.
It may be a good idea to talk to your agent or to a representative of your company about the response of your policy to a hit and run.
Questions frequently asked
What is the cost of car insurance?
The average annual cost of full-coverage car insurance in the United States for is $1,674 annually. Kentucky drivers spend an average of $21,128 per year. Your personal data, ZIP code, driving record and insurance history will all impact the cost of your car insurance. To determine the best company for you, it is a good idea to compare quotes from various insurance companies.
What are the minimum insurance requirements in Kentucky?
Every state has its own minimum insurance requirements. Failure to have the right insurance could result in severe penalties. Kentucky’s drivers must carry bodily injuries liability up to $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damages. Kentucky law also allows for policies with a single limit up to $60,000
You must choose a tort option when you purchase auto insurance in Kentucky. This will affect your ability to sue another driver. You must also purchase $10,000 of PIP coverage if you accept Kentucky’s tort limitation. You can reject the limitation and you can still reject PIP coverage for yourself and your household members. However, guest PIP must be maintained for your passengers.