Auto insurance after a DUI in Connecticut

Author:

ADUI is one the most serious offenses that you can commit on your driving record. DUIs can result in severe penalties, such as higher car insurance premiums and increased criminal charges. You should know how your car insurer might react to your conviction for DUI in Connecticut. Also, be prepared for any other consequences.

What does a DUI do to your insurance rates?

Your insurance rates will likely rise if you are convicted of DUI. Insurance providers view DUI-convicted drivers as high-risk. To offset the increased risk of insuring drivers who could cause serious accidents, premiums will be raised.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, almost 30 Americans are killed each day by drunk driving accidents. In 2018, more than 10500 people were killed by drunk driving. Even though there has been a decline in drunk driving, it is still the leading cause of death for Americans.

Insurance companies charge more for car insurance for DUI-convicts than for clean drivers because of the serious nature and consequences of DUIs.

ALSO READ  Review Of Infinity Auto Insurance Products And Services For US Motorists

Average DUI rates for the United States vs. their respective states

Pre-DUIPost-DUIPercentage Increase
National$1,674$3,33699%
Connecticut$1,845$3,42686%

The national average premium for full coverage after a DUI is almost double. The percentage increase for Connecticut drivers is slightly lower than the national average of 86%. However, Connecticut drivers should expect a substantial increase in their premiums following a DUI.

What is the cost of insurance for Connecticut after a DUI?

Every insurance company has its own rating system so the average insurance price after a DUI can vary. Your premium will be affected by factors such as your driving record, DUI severity, and your car type. You may find that some insurance companies will not renew your policy after a DUI conviction. In this case, you will need to look elsewhere for car insurance.

Connecticut provider minimum coverage rates

Rates may not reflect any changes, as some carriers won’t renew your contract if you are convicted of DUI.

ProviderAnnual minimum coverage rateDUI coverage minimum annual rate
Allstate$804$1,168
American Independent$1,739$2,269
Amica$430$1,142
Electric Insurance Company$890$1,826
Geico$427$1,085
MetLife$1,176$2,652
All over the country$631$973
Progressive$1,083$1,233
State Farm$618$886
The Hanover$1,569$3,142
USAA$472$1,048

Connecticut offers full coverage with DUI

Rates may not reflect any changes, as some carriers won’t renew your contract if you are convicted of DUI.

ProviderAverage full coverage rate for an average yearDUI coverage: Full coverage annually
Allstate$2,017$2,915
American Independent$5,042$6,847
Amica$1,216$3,379
Electric Insurance Company$1,535$3,081
Geico$1,071$2,672
MetLife$2,097$4,664
All over the country$1,280$2,262
Progressive$2,573$2,961
State Farm$1,477$2,081
The Hanover$3,867$7,045
USAA$1,264$2,607

Other Connecticut DUI penalties

A DUI conviction usually comes with additional penalties. You could face fines, license suspension or jail time. An ignition interlock device, also known as an IID, may be required on your vehicle. An IID, or in-car breathalyzer, is an electronic device that prevents a car from starting if the driver has been drinking.

ALSO READ  An Overview of Commercial Auto Insurance Policies

You should expect severe consequences if you injure, or even kill, someone you are driving while drunk.

Questions frequently asked

What is an SR-22? Will I need it after being convicted in Connecticut of DUI?

An SR-22, which is a confirmation from your insurance company to DMV, states that you have the minimum required insurance. An SR-22 form will be required if you are convicted for DUI. An SR-22 forms proves that you have car insurance and are in compliance with the law.

Is a DUI considered a crime in Connecticut?

Your first DUI is and not considered a felony. If you are convicted multiple times of DUI, you could be charged with a felony.

What is Connecticut’s legal BAC limit?

BAC above.08 can be grounds for a DUI charge in Connecticut if you’re over 21 and driving a personal car. The level drops to 0.04 if you’re driving a commercial vehicle. If you’re under 21, the level is.02.