Auto insurance after a DUI in Georgia

Author:

A DUI arrest in Georgia will likely increase your car insurance premiums. You may also be subject to penalties and fines. Georgia, as with most other states, is very strict about drunk driving. To discourage impaired drivers from driving, the consequences can be severe.

What does a DUI do to your insurance rates?

A DUI could be a sign that an individual is likely to engage in reckless behavior. This isn’t just anecdotal evidence. According to the NHTSA, drunk drivers are responsible for more than 30% of traffic deaths in the United States. The study also showed that drunk drivers involved in fatal crashes with blood alcohol content (BAC) greater than.08 were four times more likely have had prior DUI convictions. Mothers Against Drunk Driving claims that drunk driving is the leading cause of death in America, despite distracted driving increasing.

Driving drunk can have a significant financial impact. In 2010, the most recent year for which data is available, DUIs caused $44 Billion in damages.

Insurance companies charge more for DUI drivers. The average driver pays nearly twice the amount annually for insurance after a DUI than they did before.

ALSO READ  What is Inflation?

Average annual rates for DUI in the United States vs. their respective states

Pre-DUIAfter DUIPercentage Increase
National$1,674$3,33699%
Georgia$1,982$3,69186%

Although Georgia’s annual average percentage rise is lower than that of the national average, drivers can still expect higher car insurance premiums after a DUI.

What is the cost of insurance for a DUI in Georgia?

Georgia DUI convictions can result in insurance premiums that are 86% higher than the pre-DUI price. Although insurance companies consider many factors when calculating premiums, a DUI conviction is a significant factor.

Here are two tables that show the potential premium increases you might experience following a DUI with any of the insurance companies in Georgia. The first table shows minimum coverage. The second shows full coverage. You should be aware that your past criminal history and severity of your arrest may impact the amount you pay. Some insurance companies won’t write auto insurance policies for drivers who have been convicted of DUI. They may also refuse to renew your policy.

ALSO READ  What You Should Know to Find Cheap Auto Liability Insurance

Georgia provider minimum coverage rates

Rates may not reflect any changes, as some carriers won’t renew your contract if you are convicted of DUI.

ProviderAnnual minimum coverage rateDUI coverage minimum annual rate
ACCC Insurance$659$794
Alfa$859$1,232
Allstate$706$1,728
Auto-Owners$532$1,198
Country Financial$614$1,110
Donegal$963$4,147
Geico$508$1,270
Mercury$760$1,217
MetLife$887$1,695
All over the country$585$1,082
Progressive$708$1,014
Safeway$945$1,316
Southern General Agency$3,354$5,606
State Farm$486$943
USAA$581$1,136

Georgia offers full coverage with DUI

Rates may not reflect any changes, as some carriers won’t renew your contract if you are convicted of DUI.

ProviderAverage full coverage rate for an average yearDUI coverage: Full coverage annually
ACCC Insurance$1,945$2,255
Alfa$2,450$3,354
Allstate$1,718$4,500
Auto-Owners$1,494$2,993
Country Financial$2,183$3,536
Donegal$2,153$11,703
Geico$1,711$3,649
Mercury$1,915$2,757
MetLife$1,788$3,504
All over the country$1,202$2,263
Progressive$1,800$2,343
Safeway$2,372$3,164
Southern General Agency$6,717$10,745
State Farm$1,375$2,394
USAA$1,506$2,969

Other Georgia DUI Penalties

After a DUI conviction, Georgia drivers face many penalties. You could face jail time, community service, and fines.

ALSO READ  Life insurance for weight loss

Below is a table that lists the escalating punishments for repeat DUI convictions in Georgia. The penalties for drunk driving that causes injury or death to another person will likely be more severe than those listed below and will be decided by a court.

First DUISecond DUIThird DUI
FinesMinimum $300 plus court fees or surcharges$600- $1,000 plus court fees and surcharges$1000-$5,000 plus court fees and surcharges
Jail Time1- 10 Days90 days up to one year (may be reduced with probation, but three days are still mandatory).120 days to one year (minimum 15 days must be spent in prison)
Probation1 Year1- 3 Years1- 3 Years
Community ServiceMinimum 40 hours240 hours240 hours
Preventive ClassYesYesYes
License SuspensionPossible, but only with a limited driving permitMinimum 1 year5 years with the possibility of a limited permit the first two years
Device to Interlock IgnitionVariableYesYes

Questions frequently asked

Is a DUI considered a felony in Georgia

A DUI is usually considered a misdemeanor. However, there are some situations in which a DUI could be considered a felony. These include multiple DUI arrests and DUIs that have resulted or caused the death or injury of another person.

ALSO READ  Cheap Car Insurance and Car Safety - When to Make a Claim

What is an SR22?

An SR22 document that proves insurance is required by the State of Georgia. An SR22 is required by your insurer to notify Georgia’s Department of Driver Services (DDS), if your auto policy has been canceled. This proves that the DDS still holds auto insurance.