The rate you get for car insurance will depend on many factors. The insurance company will consider everything, from your personal factors to the impact of all your drivers.
However, the insurer will use your driving record, including tickets or accidents, to determine your risk profile and your auto insurance premium. A DUI conviction can result in significant changes to your auto insurance premium.
What does a DUI do to your insurance rates?
Your driving record is used by insurance companies to determine your personal insurance premium. A DUI conviction can make you a high risk driver. Your insurance premiums will rise if the insurance company finds out about your conviction.
The average national insurance rate goes up by 99%. However, Virginia rates rise an average 107% after a DUI conviction. To give you an idea about how a DUI conviction affects your rates, the chart below shows full coverage rates pre-DUI as well as state rates.
Average DUI rates for the United States vs. their respective states
|Pre-DUI||After DUI||Percentage increase|
What is the cost of insurance for a DUI in Virginia after?
Your annual premium rates will be adjusted if an insurance company finds out about your DUI conviction. Your insurance company might decide not to renew your policy if you have a DUI conviction in your driving record. It depends on where you live and what company you have insurance with. Generally, if you are convicted of a DUI offense in Virginia, you will need to file a FR 44 certification. You must also have bodily injury liability coverage of at least $50,000 per person, $100,000 per incident, and property damage liability coverage of at least $40,000 per accident. Below is a chart that shows the average Virginia full coverage rates prior to and after a DUI conviction. It may or not include companies who decide not to renew policies after a DUI conviction.
Virginia offers full coverage with DUI
|Provider||Average coverage rate||Full coverage with DUI|
|Electric Insurance Company||$3,308||$8,329|
|All over the country||$770||$1,272|
|Virginia Farm Bureau||$984||$1,304|
Other Virginia DUI penalties
If you are convicted of DUI in Virginia, you will not only face rising insurance costs. A DUI can be filed against anyone who drives in Virginia with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more.
The following are possible penalties for a first offense in Virginia:
- A minimum $250 fine and maximum $2,500
- Maximum 12 month sentence
- License suspensions up to 12 Months
- Minimum of six months for ignition interlock device
A mandatory minimum of five days imprisonment will be given if your BAC falls between 0.15% to 0.19%. If you reoffend within 10 year of your first arrest, the jail sentence will be doubled.
Any BAC above 0.20% will result in a mandatory minimum of 10 consecutive days in jail. These penalties include jail time, suspension, and towing and impound fees. They also include alcohol rehabilitation and legal fees.
Virginia has “zero tolerance” law that applies to drivers under 21 years of age. A BAC of 0.2% and higher could result in DUI arrests and possibly convictions.
What length of time does a DUI stay on your Virginia record?
Driving records could be kept for up to 11 years if you are convicted of a DUI in Virginia. A DUI conviction can also be considered a criminal misdemeanor. A DUI conviction can stay on your criminal record for life.
You can be found guilty of a Class 6 felony if you are convicted of three or more offenses within a 10-year period. A minimum sentence of 90 days is required for this offense. Three offenses within a five-year period will result in jail time of minimum six months and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Is DUI a crime in Virginia or a misdemeanor?
A DUI in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor crime. This is the most serious misdemeanor offense in Virginia. This offense could result in a maximum $2,500 fine and a sentence of up to 12 months imprisonment.
Is it possible to expunge a DUI in Virginia?
You cannot seek expungement of your Virginia record if you plead guilty for DUI. If the case was dropped or dismissed, you can ask for the charge to be expunged.
Is it better not to take a DUI test here in Virginia?
Some believe that refusing to take the chemical or breath test is better than giving it. Virginia is subject to the implied consent statute, which requires you to submit to field sobriety tests if asked by a police officer.
Refusing to take the test in Virginia will result in an automatic suspension of your license for 12 months. You won’t be allowed to drive during this time without an interlock device. You could be charged with a misdemeanor if you refuse to take the test within 10 years.