Driving without insurance in California

Driving without insurance in California can lead to a host of penalties and fines. You could face a lot of headaches trying to figure the fine if you get a ticket for driving without insurance in California.

You could also lose your driver’s license and your vehicle could be impounded if you are caught driving without insurance. Driving without insurance in California is probably not worth it. Let’s look at the numbers to see if the state-required coverage is available.

California car insurance laws

Let’s first understand what California means by driving without insurance. You can only have the required coverage in this state if you have:

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability coverage per individual
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage up to $5,000

These limits might be listed on your policy as 15/30/5.

This liability coverage provides you with some protection. You can use your liability coverage to cover the costs of damages if your car causes an accident or hits another person or object.

California law prohibits drivers from driving without insurance. This means they don’t have the required liability coverage. This is not all. Per Penal code 1464: 10% for every $10 or more of your fine (so, if you had a $25 fine, you could get a $30 penalty assessment).Code 7600: $5 for every $10Code 70372 : $5 per $10 or moreCode 76104.6 $1 per $10 or moreCode 76104.7 4 for $10 or moreCode 76000.5 2 for $10 or more

Your local official must also make the decision to include these penalties in any penalty assessments. If you are subject to any of these penalties, each $10 of your fine will be added $29 more. For example, a $100 fine becomes $390 quickly. If you are hit with the maximum $500 fine and all penalty assessments, it could cost you $1,950. This is what you would pay for full-year comprehensive auto insurance.

In an accident and not having insurance

An accident in California if you are driving without insurance can cause you more problems. You are responsible for the damages if you cause the accident. This means that you will need to pay for the repairs and medical expenses of the other party.

Driving without insurance in California and causing an accident can leave you with significant expenses that could impact your life. Even if the money is not available immediately, the other driver can sue you and garnish your wages until they collect the full amount.

License suspension is also possible if you are involved in an accident without insurance. Typically, your license will be suspended for one year. If your insurance company files an SR-22, your license can be reinstated. The SR-22 must be kept in place for at least three years. You will also need to keep your SR-22 in place for three years. This can make your car insurance more expensive.

Even if you aren’t at fault, California drivers without insurance limit your options after an accident. Your car repairs and medical expenses can be covered by the liability policy of the other driver, provided that it is within policy limits. California is a “No Pay, No Play” state. This means that you cannot seek money for non-economic damage. For example, you cannot sue for pain and suffering money.

Questions frequently asked

Which is the best California car insurance?

Your needs and wants will determine the best policy for you. Other factors include your driving record, your driving habits, and where you park your car. We have compiled a list of the top car insurance companies in California to help you compare prices and find the best policy for you.