Driving without insurance in Georgia

You must have minimum coverage if you own a Georgia-registered car. Georgia’s law makes it illegal to drive without insurance. If you are caught, there will be severe consequences. Drivers need to be familiar with Georgia’s car insurance laws. Also, the penalties for driving without insurance are severe.

Georgia car insurance laws

Georgia car insurance laws require that drivers have insurance and keep their vehicle legal. Personal liability insurance covers 25/50/25 drivers. This includes:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per individual
  • $50,000 per accident bodily injury coverage
  • $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident

Georgia law also requires that drivers have proof of insurance on their vehicles at all times. You will be penalized if a law enforcement officer asks for proof of insurance. Georgia allows both electronic and physical proof of insurance.

Georgians who drive without insurance are subject to severe penalties

You could face severe consequences if you are caught driving in Georgia without insurance. This offense can lead to a misdemeanor conviction that could result in a $1,000 fine. A first offense will result in the driver losing their driver’s license for 60 days. For two or more offenses, the driver may lose their driver’s license for at least 90 days. Drivers could also be sentenced to up to one year in prison.

Drivers who have their license suspended for an insurance-related offense in most states can apply to get their license back if they provide proof of insurance. Drivers in Georgia are less fortunate. Georgia law says that drivers who lose their license cannot drive during the entire suspension period. After the suspension period has ended, the driver must pay a license reinstatement cost of $200 for the first offense and $300 for the second.

Georgia drivers who have lost their license due to an insurance-related suspension must also obtain an SR-22. This is a certificate that shows you meet the minimum liability insurance requirements of the state. An SR-22 certificate will remain on your Georgia record for three years. An SR-22 conviction on your record can significantly increase your car insurance rates, until the certificate is removed.

In an accident and not having insurance

Georgia car insurance is not required to be purchased if you are involved in an accident. You will be responsible financially for the damages to the vehicle, medical bills, lost wages and emotional distress of the other driver. You will be responsible for paying the legal fees and settlement if the other driver takes your case to court.

You may be able sue an uninsured driver if you are hit by an insured driver, even if you don’t have your own insurance. Georgia doesn’t have a No Pay, No Play statute, which generally prohibits uninsured drivers collecting money from insured drivers who hit them. There may be a limit on how much you can recover from an insured driver.

Another caveat to this rule: you cannot legally sue an insurance driver for accident-related loss if 50% or more of the blame for the crash. Georgia uses modified comparative negligence laws to determine fault and financial responsibility following an accident. You can sue the insured driver if you are less than 49% responsible.

You might be eligible to receive reimbursement for medical bills and vehicle damage if you sue another driver. You would still be responsible financially for your legal defense costs, which is usually covered by liability insurance. Even if the insured driver wins, the majority of settlement money could be used to pay for the lawyer fees. This would leave you with very little income.

Drivers in Georgia shouldn’t assume that no-fault accidents will be covered by their insurance companies. Even if you are not liable for your losses, an accident on your driving record can impact the price of your car insurance policy if you do eventually purchase one.

Questions frequently asked

What is the best Georgia car insurance?

Each driver will have a different best Georgia car insurance. Different drivers may be looking for different discounts or lower rates. Others might be looking for special coverages such as rideshare insurance or new car replacement. Georgia drivers should compare insurance providers to find the best car insurance company for them.

What is the cost of Georgia car insurance?

The average cost for car insurance in Georgia is $2,000 for full coverage insurance, and $654 for minimum coverage insurance. The average cost for full coverage insurance in the United States, by comparison, is $1,738. Georgia’s car insurance rates are slightly higher than the national average. Keep in mind, however, that car insurance rates can be personalized based on your ZIP code, credit score and claims history.

Is Georgia a no-fault state?

Georgia is not a state of no-fault. Georgia is also known as a tort state. It is a fault state. In a fault state, a driver is responsible for paying the other driver for any injuries they cause.