Driving without insurance in New Hampshire

Author:

In New Hampshire, driving without insurance, with some exceptions, is legally allowed — the only state in the U.S. where this is the case. This may sound great if you’re trying to save money. However, you still have liability for any injuries or damage you cause in an accident. And one of the most effective ways to protect yourself financially from that liability is by having a robust car insurance policy. New Hampshire has suggested minimum insurance requirements for drivers.

New Hampshire minimum insurance requirements

New Hampshire’s suggested minimum coverage is 25/50/25, which covers liability and medical payments for those involved in an at-fault collision. This is an optional coverage, and not mandatory. This is how it works:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability: This is the maximum amount your insurer will pay to cover the injuries sustained by one person in an accident at fault.
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury per accident. This is the maximum amount your insurer will pay to cover all injuries sustained by more than one person during an at-fault event.
  • $25,000 property damage liability: This would cover damage to another person’s vehicle or property, as well as any other property, that you cause in an at fault incident.
  • $1,000 medical payments (MedPay): this coverage is for your own injuries or injuries to your passengers.
ALSO READ  Insurance Customer Service Skills & Customer Service Support - Top Insurance Clients

There are also additional optional coverages, such as collision and comprehensive, that you may want to consider, even though these are also not a legal requirement. These cover financial compensation for vehicle damage in the event that your policy limits are exceeded.

Driving without insurance in New Hampshire can lead to severe penalties

Driving without insurance in New Hampshire will not result in penalties for most people. In most cases, a police officer will not issue a ticket or fine if you are stopped. You are financially responsible for any injuries and damages if you are at fault in an accident.

Although most drivers are not required to have coverage, there are a few exceptions. Drivers required to have an SR-22 certificate of insurance with them when driving for a certain period (usually three years) will need to have a policy in place that satisfies the requirements set in place by the state for liability coverage. These are the New Hampshire SR-22 exceptions:

  • Drivers convicted of DWI
  • Anyone who was decertified as a habitual offenders
  • Convicted of leaving an accident scene or other driving violations
  • Uninsured accidents: At-fault parties
ALSO READ  Laws and Regulations of Car Insurance in Colorado

New Hampshire will add the phrase “proof of financial responsibility” to the driver’s driving record. Penalties will be applied to anyone who fails to show SR-22 when driving. These penalties may include multiple fees depending on the circumstances. They could also include four points to the driver’s licence and suspension.

Fees for the new-hampshire online insurance verification system

New Hampshire offers an online verification service for the public to check the license status of drivers. This service allows you to search for any New Hampshire driver and check their insurance status. This allows officials to check the status of those who must have proof of insurance. If they are not, they can respond. This system will also indicate what fees might be associated with restoration or reinstatement of a license.

In an accident and not having insurance

If you are in a driving-without-insurance accident in New Hampshire, there may be several outcomes. If you are found to be responsible for the accident, you will have to pay the costs of the other driver for their medical care and repairs to their vehicle. These costs can reach thousands of dollars if the accident is serious or the vehicles involved were newer. Supplemental MedPay coverage can help you pay for your injuries and medical costs if the other driver is at fault.

ALSO READ  Is It Worth It To Get Earthquake Insurance In California?

If you are at fault and uninsured, you will be required to have SR-22 insurance. New Hampshire requires that uninsured, at-fault drivers carry SR-22’s for three year following an accident. High risk drivers (which insurers can identify by the requirement for an SR-22), may lead to higher insurance costs. You also run the risk of losing your license or paying fees to get it back.

Questions frequently asked

What happens if you give false information about your insurance?

It is never a good idea to provide false insurance information to anyone, whether to law enforcement or to an insurer. It is simple for law enforcement, insurers and other drivers to check the legitimacy of your insurance information through the state’s online system. False information about your insurance coverage could result in additional penalties or even termination of your policy with your insurer.

What is the cost of car insurance in New Hampshire

The average cost of car insurance in the U.S. is $1,674 a year based on quoted annual premiums. New Hampshire drivers pay only $1,275 per year for full coverage that includes comprehensive and collision coverage. Rates will vary depending on many factors, including personal and circumstantial.

ALSO READ  Does Homeowners Insurance Cover Ground Water Damage?

Is it illegal to drive without insurance in New Hampshire?

While you won’t be issued a ticket for not having insurance in New Hampshire it is possible to face longer-term consequences if you are found at fault in an accident with no insurance. New Hampshire makes insurance recommendations based upon the fact that you can still be held liable for injuries and damages if you are at-fault for an incident.

Is New Hampshire’s minimum recommended coverage of 25/50/25 sufficient?

Experts in insurance recommend that you have more than the minimum state liability coverage. This is because medical expenses and vehicle damage can quickly add up, leaving you financially vulnerable. Comprehensive and collision coverages can provide greater financial protection depending on your preference.

Table of Contents