Driving without insurance is a class 2 offense in South Dakota. A judge will decide the severity of penalties for each driver. Drivers can expect to pay a minimum of $100, 30 days in jail, or both, as well as a license suspension for not following South Dakota’s financial responsibility laws. They must also file proof of insurance, an SR-22, with the state of South Dakota for three years from the date of eligibility for reinstatement.
South Dakota requires minimum insurance
- Bodily injury coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- Property damage coverage: $25,000 per incident
- Bodily injury uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident
- Property damage uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per accident
These coverages are not sufficient to allow you to legally drive your car in South Dakota. Insurance experts recommend that you purchase collision and comprehensive insurance to protect your finances in the event of an accident. South Dakota’s minimum liability coverage does not cover damage to your vehicle. It may not even cover injuries or damages caused by other drivers if you are involved in an accident. Your lender will likely require you to have full coverage if you finance or lease your vehicle.
Driving without insurance in South Dakota can result in severe penalties
Unlike many states, South Dakota only has one set of penalties for drivers convicted of driving without insurance. A judge can automatically punish a driver for driving without insurance, regardless of whether it is their first offense.
South Dakota’s online insurance verification program charges fees
South Dakota currently does not have an online insurance verification system. Instead, drivers must provide proof of insurance at registration and keep proof with them while driving.
In an accident and not having insurance
You will be issued a ticket if you cause an accident and drive without insurance. A judge may fine you up to 30 days imprisonment if you fail to provide proof of your pre-existing coverage before you appear in court. These are severe penalties but there are more serious consequences for those who cause an accident without insurance.
South Dakota is considered a tort state. This means that at-fault drivers will be financially responsible for any injuries or damages they cause in an accident. You could be held liable for thousands of dollars if you don’t have insurance. You could also be sued by the other driver. Car insurance mandates are designed to protect drivers against financial ruin.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if your insurance information is false?
Driving without insurance has serious consequences for drivers in South Dakota. False insurance information could result in criminal charges, jail time, and severe fines.
In addition, insurance fraud can also be committed by lying to your insurer. Providers will often cancel policies if drivers provide false information while they are processing a claim.
What is the cost of car insurance in South Dakota
The average cost of car insurance in South Dakota is $1,642 annually for full coverage, which is in line with the national average ($1,674 a year). Each driver will pay a different amount depending on their driving record, car type, and location.
Which are the top South Dakota insurance companies?
Because everyone has different needs, the best car insurance company will be different for everyone. Bankrate conducted research on customer satisfaction scores, financial strength and coverage options. Our picks for some of the best insurance companies operating in South Dakota are Allstate, Progressive, State Farm and USAA.
What is an SR-22 Certificate?
An SR-22, which is proof of insurance sent by an insurance company to the South Dakota Department of Public Safety, (DPS), is a document that proves insurance. SR-22s are typically ordered after a DUI conviction, but are also ordered when a driver is convicted of driving with no insurance.
Three years is the minimum time a South Dakota driver must hold an SR-22. Their insurance company must notify the DPS if they cancel their policy within this timeframe. This will suspend their driver’s licence and revoke your registration.