Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs (or DUI) is responsible for nearly 28 deaths per day in the United States. This is in contrast to a DWI which is when you drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DWIs and DUIs are both illegal in the U.S. and the penalties for either are similar with fines, imprisonment, and license revocation. Your ability to obtain affordable car insurance in Alaska can be affected for many years after you are convicted of DUI.
Alaskan drivers spend an average of $1,559 on car insurance before getting a DUI. The cost of car insurance in Alaska after a DUI is $2,416. However, there’s a 55 percent increase. Drivers in the United States will experience an average 99 percent increase in their driving ability after being convicted for DUI.
Alaska DUI laws
Alaska law prohibits drunk driving. Drivers who operate a noncommercial vehicle and are 21 years old or older are considered to be intoxicated if their blood alcohol concentration is greater than.08. Commercial vehicle drivers are considered to be impaired if they drive with blood alcohol levels of.04 or higher. Drivers under 21 are considered to be impaired by alcohol.
These are the penalties for driving drunk in Alaska:
- Drivers who are convicted of a first offense will face 72 hours imprisonment, a minimum $1500 fine, and a license suspension for at most 90 days.
- Drivers who are convicted of a second DUI offense within 15 years of their first DUI conviction will face 20 days imprisonment, a minimum $3,000 fine, and a driver’s license suspension of at least one year.
- Drivers who are convicted of a third DUI offense within 15 years of their first will be sentenced to 60 days in prison, a minimum $4,000 fine, and driver’s licence revocation for at least three years. The driver who is convicted of the third offense within 10 years of any other offenses will be sentenced to a minimum 120 days in prison, $10,000 minimum fine, and 10 years of driver’s license suspension.
What a DUI can do to your Alaska car insurance
A DUI conviction in Alaska is illegal. A DUI conviction can result in severe penalties for you and your ability to get car insurance over the years. Even if your vehicle already has car insurance, a DUI conviction will impact your ability to renew it. Your request to renew may be rejected by your insurer. DUI convictions in Alaska are a serious crime. Insurance companies may view you as a high risk driver. Your car insurance rates can increase if you are convicted of DUI.
After a DUI, the average Alaska car insurance increase rate is 55 percent. Every car insurance company has its own application process, underwriting, coverage, and rates. All car insurance companies will require you to provide your driving record. Some companies may require that you take defensive driving courses before you are granted a policy. It is a smart idea to search multiple car insurers to ensure you get the best possible car insurance.
After a DUI in Alaska, you can find car insurance
Finding car insurance after a DUI conviction in Alaska can be challenging. Insurance companies will view you negatively if you are a high-risk driver. Some car insurance providers in Alaska might deny you coverage, while others may require that you pay a higher premium.
Below is the chart showing the average annual premium for several Alaska car insurance companies. Although Progressive is our most competitive choice, there are likely other companies that offer better rates in your area. It is important to do your research and choose the right car insurance. USAA is a close second. However, this insurance company does not cover military personnel and their families.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in Alaska do to my criminal record?
An Alaska DUI conviction will remain on your record for the rest of your life. This is one of the most severe penalties in the U.S. After a DUI conviction, your driver’s license will be subject to 10 points. Two points will be removed for every two years if you don’t reoffend. A DUI conviction in Alaska will affect your ability to apply for car insurance, get jobs and pass background checks.
What if I get a DUI and still qualify for car insurance discounts?
Although many car insurance companies offer discounts for their customers, the exact list of discounts will vary from one company to the next. You can still reduce your car insurance costs even if you have a DUI.
What is the reason why car insurance rates in Alaska will go up after a DUI conviction?
A DUI conviction will be recorded on your criminal and background records. Notification will also go to your insurance company. Your car insurance premiums will increase if you are deemed a high-risk driver.
Table of Contents