Florida is home to approximately 14300,000 drivers. It is also one of the most populous states in the nation. Unfortunately, Florida drivers are not well-known. Despite the fact that car insurance is required by law in Florida, 26.7% are not insured.
Florida’s car insurance laws differ from those in other states. Neglecting to have the proper insurance can result in serious consequences. You need to be familiar with Florida’s car insurance requirements. Also, know the penalties for driving in Florida without insurance. Know what Florida drivers should look out for when choosing car insurance.
Florida has laws regarding car insurance
Florida’s car insurance laws are quite simple:
- Florida drivers must have no-fault insurance in order to legally register and operate their car in the state.
- Insurance must only be purchased through a licensed provider. Florida drivers need to purchase car insurance from an approved insurance company.
- Permanent coverage: All vehicle owners must have continuous insurance coverage during the registration period. Only military personnel are exempt.
- Policy cancellation: Florida drivers must give up their registration and license plates before they can cancel their insurance.
Florida Liability Insurance
Technically, Florida does not require liability insurance. Florida is a state that does not require drivers to have liability insurance. The following coverages are included in Florida’s no fault car insurance laws:
- $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP), coverage
- $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL), coverage
The minimum policy limits for no fault insurance might not be sufficient to cover all the costs of an accident. If a driver is involved in a car accident and has $20,000 worth of medical bills, the insurance policy would not cover $10,000. The driver will have to pay the $10,000 remaining out-of-pocket. Vehicle damage is not covered by no-fault insurance.
Is Florida a no-fault state?
Yes, Florida is among twelve states that have no-fault laws. A driver’s PIP policy will cover their medical expenses and lost earnings after an accident in a state that is no-fault. PDL insurance covers damage to property of other people.
The type of insurance required is one of the major differences between no-fault and fault states. Drivers in most fault states must have bodily injury liability and/or property damage liability insurance. Drivers in no-fault states like Florida are required to have PIP and PDL coverage.
Florida drivers without insurance face severe penalties
Florida law makes it illegal to drive without proper insurance. This can lead to severe consequences. Drivers who do not have no-fault coverage during the registration period can have their license suspended and plates removed for up to 3 years. A reinstatement fee can be up to $500 and they are required to pay it.
Drivers who fail to show proof of insurance documentation to law enforcement could have their driver’s license suspended up to three years. Drivers who have their license suspended may need to purchase FR-22 insurance in order to get it back. This proves that they have the minimum state-required insurance coverage.
Additional options for auto insurance in Florida
Although no-fault insurance provides valuable protection, it leaves gaps in coverage. Florida drivers can add additional coverage to their auto insurance policies. These are some additional coverage options for auto insurance in Florida.
- Collision insurance. collision insurance is an optional coverage offered by most Florida car insurance companies. This insurance pays for vehicle repairs after an accident.
- Comprehensive Insurance: Comprehensive is another coverage that covers vehicle damage caused by non-accidental incidents. Flood, vandalism, vandalism, and falling objects are just a few examples.
- Roadside Assistance: This covers basic repairs to your vehicle if it breaks down on the side road. This includes towing, gas delivery, battery services and tire changes.
- Gap Insurance: gap insurance is perfect for those who finance or lease their vehicle. Gap insurance covers the difference between the car’s value and the loan balance after an accident.
Questions frequently asked
Which is the best auto insurance company?
There are many car insurance companies available on the market. However, not all are created equal. The Hartford, Erie and Nationwide are some of the most reputable car insurance companies.
What is the cost of Florida car insurance?
The average cost of car insurance in Florida is $2,364 to get full coverage and $1,101 to get minimum coverage. Car insurance rates can be customized. Based on the driver’s ZIP code, age and credit history, they will pay a different rate.
How can I save money when buying car insurance in Florida
Many affordable car insurers in Florida offer discounts to help drivers save money. Bundling a home and car insurance policies, insuring multiple cars, taking defensive driving courses, not having to file any claims, and having anti-theft systems in the vehicle are some of the common discounts.