Drivers may feel tempted to skip insurance because of the high cost of car insurance in South Carolina. It is the 16th highest in the country. State drivers risk being penalized for driving without insurance in South Carolina.
South Carolina requires minimum insurance
South Carolina, like most other states, requires that you have minimum insurance in order to be able to drive legally. To avoid a ticket for not having insurance, you must purchase at least these limits.
- $25,000 per person to treat bodily injuries
- $50,000 for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident to cover property damage
- Limits equal to the liability limits for uninsured motorist coverage
Car insurance providers must offer coverage for underinsured motorists, but drivers can choose to not purchase it. It is essential to be familiar with the car insurance laws that you must follow when driving in South Carolina. Also, know the possible penalties for not following them.
Driving without insurance in South Carolina can result in severe penalties
You may be subject to penalties depending on the number of offenses. High-risk drivers are those who have not been licensed to drive in South Carolina.
You will be fined for the first offense
- $550 uninsured motorist fee
- You can be fined up to $200 or spend 30 days in prison, or both
- $5 per day, for every day that you go without insurance
You could lose your license or registration if you don’t provide proof of insurance coverage. This is also known as an SR-22. You will also have to pay up to $400 for your license and registration to be reinstated.
All penalties for driving without insurance South Carolina apply to the second offense. The second offense does not carry an “or” sentence. You will be fined and could spend up to 30 days in prison. A second offense in South Carolina is a criminal misdemeanor that stays on your criminal record forever.
For a third offense, you will be subject to the same fees and penalties as above but your jail sentence can be extended to 45 days or six months. An SR-22 will be required and you must pay to renew your registration and license. This fee can reach up to $400 .
South Carolina’s online insurance verification program charges fees
Insurance providers must provide proof of insurance to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles Automobile Liability Insurance reporting system, SC ALIR. The owner of a vehicle caught with no insurance or a lapsed policy in South Carolina will be penalized or fined.
You must notify your insurance company if you receive an FR-4 Suspension notice or FR-31 verification request notice. If the notice arrives within 20 days, or manually if the letter is not in English, you must complete the proof of insurance information.
South Carolina: No insurance for an accident
No matter how safe you may be as a South Carolina driver, accidents can happen regardless of whether you have insurance. There are more penalties, fees, and jail time than just the ones listed. If your car is to be towed or impounded, you may also need to pay impound and towing fees. You would be responsible for any injuries, lost wages and property damage if you are found to be at fault for the accident.
The accident costs can be very high. However, injured passengers and drivers of other cars may sue you for their part in the accident. This is especially true if you were at fault or driving without insurance. South Carolina has a Modified Comparative Neglect Rule, which allows someone who is 50% at fault to sue the other person for non-economic or economic damages. There is no cap.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
South Carolina permits drivers to use digital proof of insurance. If asked by a police officer, you must provide proof of insurance. False information about your insurance can be a crime. This is driving without insurance. You could be charged with a criminal offense and sentenced to jail time.
What is the cost of car insurance in South Carolina
Cost of car insurance in South Carolina can vary depending on the driver’s driving record, whereabouts, vehicle type, and coverage requirements. The average cost for car insurance in South Carolina is $558 per annum for state minimum liability limits, and $1,512 for full coverage. These rates are significantly lower than the possible fines and penalties that driving without insurance can bring in South Carolina.
What happens if you lose your SC insurance?
In South Carolina , the insurance lapse penalty is $5 per day up to a maximum of $200 per incident. An electronic notification is sent by the Department of Motor Vehicles to notify them that a car insurance policy has been cancelled. The Department of Motor Vehicles may send an electronic notification to the driver asking for proof that insurance has been cancelled. A response must be received within 20 days. Otherwise, the driver’s driver’s license will be suspended and the vehicle registration will be cancelled. In order to prove that your insurance was reinstated, you’ll need to show proof of insurance SR-22 from your insurer.
Is it possible to drive without insurance?
It is illegal to drive without insurance in South Carolina. The penalties for being pulled over or involved into an accident are severe and expensive. Insurance experts recommend that you purchase appropriate coverage. The cost of car insurance is rarely more expensive than the cost of maintaining coverage. This will ensure your financial security.
What is the minimum penalty for driving without insurance?
Uninsured motorists in South Carolina will be subject to a $550 fee. This fee does not include any fines, jail or reinstatement fees that you may have to pay if you are caught driving in South Carolina without insurance.