Like in many states, car coverage is mandatory for Pennsylvania drivers. Pennsylvania saw 125,267 fatalities and 1,059 injuries in 2019. These high numbers make Pennsylvania insurance laws very strict. It is important that you understand both your minimum requirements and any optional coverages that may be available to provide better coverage.
Pennsylvania has laws regarding car insurance
Minimum insurance that you must have is 15/30/5. What does this mean? These numbers refer to your liability coverage and include the following:
- $15,000 bodily Injury (BI) Liability: Minimum coverage is where your insurer pays the minimum amount to the other driver and their passengers for any injuries you cause in an accident.
- $30,000 BI Total: If there are multiple injuries from an at-fault collision, this is what your insurance will pay.
- $5,000 Property Damage (PD) Liability: This amount is what your insurance will pay if you cause property damage, such as a fence, light post or damage to another driver’s vehicle.
Pennsylvania’s car insurance law requires you to have $5,000 PIP coverage. This will cover your medical expenses following an accident, regardless of who was at fault.
The minimum cost in Pennsylvania for liability and PIP coverage is $371 per year. This is $192 lower than the $563 national average for minimum coverage. The average cost of full coverage in Pennsylvania (which includes collision and comprehensive) is $1,606 per year, compared with $1,738 nationally.
Pennsylvania offers liability insurance
Liability is a legal term that means you are responsible for paying something. In this instance, it would be the accident costs. Pennsylvania’s auto insurance requirements are relatively low in comparison to other states. Many insurance experts recommend that you have more coverage than the minimum required.
For example, let’s say you run a red light in a hurry, striking a car waiting at the intersection to turn left. The $15,000 coverage will be exhausted if the driver sustains serious injuries that require extensive surgery or after-care. All costs after that would be out of your pockets.
Is Pennsylvania a no-fault state?
Pennsylvania is one the 12 US states that are not at fault. Original intent of no-fault laws was to prevent accident-related lawsuits from going to court. You can apply to your insurer for claims in no-fault states, instead of the other driver’s insurance. Also, you have PIP coverage.
Pennsylvania is the only state that offers drivers both limited tort and full tort options when it comes to their right to sue. This choice will be made when you purchase your car insurance and will continue to apply until you renew it.
Although limited tort insurance is less expensive, it does not give you the right to sue another driver for an accident they caused. Except in certain situations, you cannot sue for non-economic losses (pain and suffering) or any other damages. While full tort insurance is more expensive, you still have the right to sue for medical expenses as well as for pain and suffering.
Driving without insurance in Pennsylvania can result in severe penalties
You will be fined if you don’t have your insurance card. Pennsylvania has strict laws regarding driving without insurance. If you don’t have proof of insurance, you could face serious penalties. Your vehicle registration and driver’s license will be suspended for three month if you are convicted. In addition to a $300 fine, you will be charged fees to reinstate your license and registration.
Pennsylvania offers additional auto insurance options
Pennsylvania drivers have the option to choose from a variety of optional coverages that will allow them to tailor their policy to suit their needs. The most popular are:
- Collision – This covers any damage caused to your vehicle by an accident. You can choose the deductible when you buy your policy. This coverage might be required by your lender if you are leasing your vehicle or taking out a loan on your vehicle.
- Comprehensive: This coverage covers damage to your vehicle caused by non-accidental mishaps such as theft, vandalism, or natural disasters. This deductible is also required to obtain loans or leases.
- Uninsured/underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist: Approximately 8% of Pennsylvania drivers are on the road illegally without insurance. UM/UIM coverage will pay for your expenses if you get into an accident with one. If you are struck-and-run, it will pay for your expenses.
- Gap insurance In the event that you total your vehicle, your insurer may send you a check, but it will only be for the car’s depreciated price. This coverage will cover the difference between what you owe and the car’s actual value.
- Towing and labor coverage: If you require roadside assistance, this coverage kicks in. This coverage will cover towing, jump start, lockout assistance, and other costs. This coverage option is subject to change from one insurer to the next. Make sure you carefully read your policy.
Questions frequently asked
Which Pennsylvania car insurance company is best?
Pennsylvania has many companies that offer solid policies. Ask around to find the best one for you. Get some online quotes and ask for recommendations. Look for a financially sound company with low rates and great customer service. Bankrate’s Best Car Insurance In Pennsylvania 2021 page is a good place to begin your search.
Which Pennsylvania car insurance company is the most affordable?
Because it is based on individual factors like your driving record, credit rating, and car model, the cheapest car insurance can vary widely from one person to the next. The Cheapest Auto Insurance in Pennsylvania 2021 list highlights the companies offering the most competitive rates.