Wyoming drivers need financial protection from car insurance, whether they are driving through Wyoming’s wide open spaces, Yellowstone National Park, Cheyenne, or on treacherous terrain during severe winter weather. According to the Insurance Information Institute, more than 419,000 drivers were on Wyoming’s roads in 2018, with 111 fatalities. However, local reports show that this number increased by nearly one-third in the following year with 147 deaths. Driver distraction, alcohol and drug intoxication, and driving too fast for road conditions were the main causes.
Wyoming has laws regarding car insurance
Wyoming’s car insurance laws require that drivers show proof of financial responsibility with car insurance or another form of coverage to be eligible for minimum car insurance. Local law enforcement will not accept electronic proof of insurance, but you can show proof by a certificate or ID card from your auto insurer.
Wyoming’s minimum car insurance laws require minimum liability coverage of 25/50/20 or:
- $25,000 per person for injuries
- $50,000 per accident for injuries
- Property damage: $20,000
You may choose one of these to meet Wyoming’s minimum auto insurance laws if you don’t want traditional auto insurance.
- Deposit of money or securities: The Wyoming Treasury can accept $25,000 as an alternative proof of financial responsibility.
- Surety bond: This is a guarantee that a surety firm will pay all claims and costs arising from a car accident.
- Self-insurance: You may be eligible to become a self-insurer if you own more than 25 vehicles (small-business owners, for instance). For each 25 vehicles you cover, you must file cash or securities as well as a surety bond of $200,000 plus $100.
Wyoming has liability insurance
Although Wyoming drivers must have minimum liability insurance, it is sometimes not enough. The liability coverage doesn’t cover your injuries or property damage. In many cases, both cars are damaged in an accident. Sometimes, the minimum liability coverage does not cover all costs. In such cases, the driver might have to pay the difference out of pocket. Lenders may require you to have more than liability coverage if you owe money on a car loan. They will often also require you to have collision or comprehensive coverage.
Wyoming is a vast land of almost 98,000 square miles where the average driver logs almost 22,000 mi per year. A higher chance of an accident can be caused by more time on the road and more miles. This means that insurance is often needed at a higher level. There is a higher chance of collisions with Wyoming wildlife like elks, antelopes, moose, and deer.
Is Wyoming a state of no-fault?
Wyoming is considered an at-fault State, meaning that drivers in Wyoming must accept responsibility for any accident they cause. The insurance policy of the driver responsible for the accident must cover the costs of any damage to the vehicle involved.
Wyoming penalizes drivers who drive without insurance
Wyoming’s car insurance laws are strict and drivers can face severe penalties if they don’t comply or drive without insurance. A first offense could result in a requirement to maintain an SR-22 certificate for three years and a fine of $250-$750. The penalty for subsequent offenses is a requirement that an SR-22 certificate be maintained for three years. This can include a fine of $500-$1500 and forfeiture of vehicle registration or license plates.
Wyoming offers additional auto insurance options
Other than the state minimum coverage, there are other insurance options that offer coverage for:
- Collision – This coverage covers damage to your vehicle caused by collisions with other vehicles or objects, even if you are at fault.
- Comprehensive – This coverage covers damage to your vehicle from non-collision incidents (for example theft, vandalism, or weather events).
- Gap coverage – This covers the difference between the amount you owe on the loan and the car’s cash value in the event that your vehicle is damaged or destroyed.
- Medical payments – These are your medical expenses in case of an accident.
- Rental car reimbursement – This covers the rental car cost while your vehicle is being repaired from any damages that result from an accident.
- Roadside assistance – This coverage includes a tow truck and assistance during a breakdown (for instance, labor to change a flat or jumpstart a dead batteries).
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist – This takes care of you if you or your vehicle are harmed by another driver who is not insured, is underinsured or if you’re in a hit-and-run.
Questions frequently asked
Which Wyoming car insurance company is best?
There are many factors that determine the best car insurance company. It is important to compare different companies and find what works for you. It might be helpful to review the Best Car Insurance Companies In Wyoming and compare the average insurance cost for each company.
How can I lower my car-insurance premiums?
If you don’t have any discounts, you should inquire about them. Reach out to your agent to find out if you are eligible for discounts like safe driver and claims-free discount, bundling or multi-car discounts or discounts for good students.