Driving without insurance can seem great for saving money, whether you’re driving on the back roads of Texas or in the downtown areas. It might not be worth it when you consider the potential penalties for driving without insurance in Texas.
Texas car insurance laws
Texas car insurance law requires drivers to have liability auto insurance. They must also carry proof of insurance to show a police officer, if requested.
Texas requires minimum liability coverage at 30/60/25.
- $30,000 per person for injuries
- $60,000 per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Driving without Texas insurance can result in severe penalties
A driver caught driving without insurance can face fines of up to $350 and a $250 surcharge for each subsequent offense. The total penalty for driving without insurance can reach up to $1100.
Penalties rise from there, with fines rising up to $1000 for a second offense and the same $250 surcharge for each subsequent year. A fine of up to $1750 could be imposed, which is significantly more than the cost of liability insurance in Texas (which averages $726 per annum).
Drivers who commit subsequent offenses face suspension of their license, suspension of vehicle registration, impoundment, and/or the obligation to file an SR-22 Certificate (a requirement for high risk drivers). The penalties can be quite costly, and it could cost hundreds or even thousands to get your vehicle registered back and reinstate your license. The day-to-day impoundment fee is calculated and depending on how long your vehicle is impounded can result in a high bill. You may also have to deal with the inconvenience of not having a vehicle.
In an accident and not having insurance
Drivers without liability auto insurance who are involved in an accident that results in injuries or damage could be held responsible. These could include vehicle damage, medical bills and rental car fees. They can also be responsible for lost wages and court costs in the event of a lawsuit. These financial consequences can lead to loss of life savings, bankruptcy or worse.
Drivers who cause serious injury or death in an accident could spend a year in prison, file an SR-22 for three years, and have their vehicle registration and license suspended by the department for two years. The financial cost of not having insurance for an accident can be far higher than the cost of minimum liability insurance.
Questions frequently asked
Which Texas insurance policy is best?
The best car insurance depends on your driving record, needs, budget, and available discounts. Find the Best Car Insurance Companies In Texas and talk to an agent about which policy is best for you.
Which Texas state has the lowest car insurance?
To find the right policy, read The Cheapest Texas Car Insurance for 2021. Your driving record, vehicle and other factors will all affect the policy you choose. Talk to your agent to discuss your options to help you find the right policy.