According to the United States Census Bureau, Wisconsin had a population of more than 5.8 million people in 2019. The same year, Wisconsin reported nearly 4.3 million licensed drivers. Accidents are inevitable with so many drivers on Wisconsin’s roads. In 2019, Wisconsin statistics revealed that:
- Traffic accidents caused 145,288 deaths
- Traffic accidents claimed the lives of 511 people
- 28791 people were injured in traffic accidents
- 6.058 alcohol impairment was involved in accidents
- 140 deaths were caused by alcohol impairment
- 21,813 speeding accidents
- Speeding was responsible for 163 deaths
An automobile with safety equipment like airbags, anti lock brakes, and electronic stability control can help to avoid serious injuries and crashes. A car insurance policy can help protect your assets. Wisconsin law requires that all drivers have certain types of insurance. You could face a heavy fine if you don’t have the mandated coverage.
Wisconsin has laws regarding car insurance
Each state has minimum requirements for auto insurance. According to the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, automobile owners must only carry bodily injury liability, property damage liability and uninsured motorist coverages, including:
- Bodily Injury Liability per Person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury Liability per Accident: $50,000
- Accidental property damage coverage: $10,000
- $2,500 per person for uninsured motorist bodily injuries
- Bodily injury to an uninsured motorist in an accident: $50,000
Wisconsin offers liability insurance
Wisconsin law requires that drivers only carry basic liability coverage. This is intended to cover the cost of someone else’s injuries if they are involved in an accident.
Because the liability coverage you buy will only cover the limit, many drivers opt to purchase more than the minimum. If you total another driver’s 2021 Honda Accord, it may cost up to $26,000 to replace it, $16,000 more than Wisconsin’s $10,000 property damage liability minimum. A hospital stay can cost $10,000 or more per day. Wisconsin’s $25,000 minimum bodily injuries liability coverage won’t cover all costs if you’re at fault in an accident that causes injury to another driver. You are responsible for paying any excess costs incurred due to injury or damage beyond your insurance limits.
Financial advisors recommend that you have more liability coverage than the minimum. You may require liability coverage with higher limits if you have high net worth. An option is to purchase a personal umbrella policy. The umbrella policy kicks in to cover any costs incurred if you are at fault in an auto accident.
Is Wisconsin a no-fault state?
A few states have passed no fault laws that require motorists to have personal injury protection (PIP). No-fault auto insurance laws allow drivers to file claims against their insurance company regardless of fault. They also limit the possibility of traffic accident lawsuits.
Badger State drivers do not need to have PIP. Wisconsin is not considered a no fault state. This means that automobile owners in the Badger State are not protected from lawsuits under a no fault law. Always ensure you have enough coverage for your vehicle when insuring it in Wisconsin. Also, consider an umbrella policy to add protection.
Driving without insurance in Wisconsin carries a stiff penalty
The penalty for driving in Wisconsin without insurance is a $500 fine. A $10 fine could be assessed if you fail to produce proof of insurance. The violation will be removed if you later prove you were insured at that time by showing a paper or digital insurance ID. Wisconsin law recognizes digital ID cards. Many insurance companies offer them in their mobile apps. A $5,000 fine can be imposed for presenting false or fraudulent proof of insurance ID cards.
While Wisconsin law permits police officers to ask for proof of insurance when pulling you over to do a traffic stop on you, they cannot pull you over solely to determine your insurance compliance.
Additional options for auto insurance in Wisconsin
Wisconsin law provides barebones coverage, but you have the option to add additional coverages for added peace of mind. If you lease or loan your vehicle, you may be required to buy additional coverage. These are some of the most popular additional coverages:
- Collision:Collision coverageYour automobile is covered and you can repair or replace it if there are any injuries. Leasing companies and lenders often require collision coverage when you lease or finance a vehicle. Collision coverage covers your car if it collides with another vehicle. It may also cover the cost of repair or replacement of your vehicle if your vehicle collides with a stationary object such as a telephone pole or is hit-and-run.
- ComprehensiveComprehensive coverage covers your vehicle for repairs or replacement if it is damaged by an accident other than a collision. Comprehensive coverage, for example, will cover broken windshields, storm damage, and stolen vehicles. Leasing companies and lenders will often require that you purchase comprehensive coverage for automobiles financed or leased.
- MedPay is a medical payment system.MedPay coverage, although not required by Wisconsin law is very affordable and provides great protection. This coverage helps you and your passengers pay for medical expenses resulting from an accident. MedPay can cover medical expenses such as hospital costs, deductibles and copayments for health insurance, professional nursing care, prosthetics, and surgery. MedPay may pay for funeral expenses if you or your passenger are killed in an accident. It may also cover you and your family members if you are injured while riding in another person’s vehicle.
You might be interested in other optional coverages offered by car insurance companies. The options available vary from one provider to another, but they may include:
- Coverage for accidental death and dismemberment
- Gap insurance
- Rental car reimbursement coverage
- Roadside assistance coverage
Questions frequently asked
Which is the best Wisconsin car insurance company?
Based on Bankrate’s research, the best insurance companies in Wisconsin in 2021 include Allstate, Auto-Owners, Geico, Travelers and USAA, but the best provider depends on your needs and quoted rates. Find out which companies offer you the best options at the lowest price.
Which is the best car insurance in Wisconsin?
According to Bankrate’s research of 2021 rates, Erie, Geico, Progressive, State Farm and USAA offer the cheapest car insurance in Wisconsin. Insurers consider several factors when determining the premium for your auto insurance. Request quotes from multiple carriers to get the best rate.
Is Wisconsin required to provide proof of insurance before registering an automobile
According to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, you do not need to provide proof of insurance when registering a vehicle. You must have proof of insurance to drive your vehicle. A $10 fine can be imposed if you fail to show proof of insurance to police officers.
Table of Contents