Maryland’s insurance regulations prohibit you from driving without insurance. To comply with state regulations, you must have at least the minimum amount of car insurance. If you are involved in an accident, car insurance provides financial protection. You could be held financially responsible for any damages or fines.
There are no allowances for ignorance. Driving without vehicle insurance in Maryland or not knowing the minimum requirements for it could result in your license being revoked. Your license could be suspended or you could face a fine for driving in Maryland without insurance.
Maryland requires minimum insurance
Maryland drivers must have liability insurance. This is to cover injuries, damages, and losses that the at-fault driver causes others. Maryland does not permit you to register your car until you have the minimum level of insurance. The minimum liability requirements for a state are:
- $30,000 per person for bodily injuries
- $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 for property damage due to an accident
While the state minimum coverage may be the most cost-effective, it may not provide sufficient financial protection in the case of an accident. The liability car insurance covers only injuries and property damage for the limits set. It may not be sufficient to cover all damages in a serious accident. The limit of coverage would not cover all expenses. You would need to pay out-of-pocket.
Liability insurance does not cover personal expenses if your vehicle is damaged or needs to be repaired. To include your property, you would need full coverage.
Maryland drivers without insurance face severe penalties
The penalties and fines for driving without insurance in Maryland vary depending on the circumstances. The first offense could result in a fine of $150 and $7 per day (up to $2,500 per annum) until proof of insurance is provided by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Association. You could lose your license if you’re found driving without insurance in more serious cases.
It is important to ensure that your insurance policy does not lapse. Even if your car insurance bill is not paid, your insurance company must notify the Maryland DMV about any policy cancellations or lapses. The MVA may send you a Proof of Vehicle Insurance Needed Letter. You should respond immediately to the MVA notice by contacting your agent and asking them for a eFR 19.
This is how driving without insurance Maryland might look like:
- If you are caught driving without insurance, someone files a uninsured motorist claim against your insurer or against you. Your coverage has lapsed.
- A Proof of Vehicle Insurance Needed is sent to you. You must reply with proof of coverage. Ask your agent for an e-FR 19.
- Alternativly, you could be fined if you pull over without your car insurance
- You may lose your vehicle registration or license.
- If you have a suspended registration, your vehicle could be towable
- You may be sent to CCU if you fail to pay your fines.
- CCU could then add $175 to its collection fees and seize your tax return in order to repay your debt.
Maryland’s online insurance verification program charges fees
Maryland’s online insurance verification program can flag drivers who have lapsed coverage or are not covered by enough vehicle insurance. Even if you are not reported by anyone for driving without vehicle insurance, the MVA could still flag you if your policy has been canceled.
In an accident and not having insurance
An accident without insurance is more serious. Your driver’s license could be suspended, you could face fines and penalties or report to the court. You could also be subject to the usual penalties. The other party could report you and file a claim against uninsured drivers for the state’s investigation.
If it was your first offense, a court could charge you with a $1,000 criminal fine or sentence you to up to one year in jail if you were involved in an accident that resulted without car insurance. Your driving record will be assessed with five points. This could increase your car insurance premiums if you renew or restore coverage.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
Driving without insurance is a serious offense. However, there are times when it happens by accident. Your coverage may have expired because you forgot to pay your bill. It’s better to deal with the situation responsibly than try to falsify information. A $1,000 fine for providing false information about insurance is possible in Maryland.
What is an FR-19?
An FR-19 form is what your insurance company submits to the Maryland MVA on your behalf in order to verify your insurance. You may need to pay the past due premium if you get a Proof of Vehicle Insurance Needed notification. After your vehicle coverage has been reinstated, your insurer should provide proof of insurance (an FR-19). You should not drive your vehicle until you have received the FR-19 file. Otherwise, your vehicle could be impounded.
What is the cost of car insurance in Maryland?
To meet Maryland’s minimum coverage requirements, the average cost for car insurance in Maryland is $767 per annum. This is slightly higher than the $565/year national average for minimum coverage. Maryland drivers looking for full coverage pay an average $1,877 per year.
Is Maryland car insurance required?
All drivers must have continuous vehicle insurance. Minimum 30/60/15 liability coverage is required. This covers $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 per accident, and $15,000 for property damage.