In most states, including Oklahoma and Texas, driving without insurance is illegal. This could lead to severe legal or financial consequences for you if you are involved in an accident or stopped by police. Oklahoma’s minimum coverage for liability is relatively inexpensive compared to the national average of $555, which averages $423 per year across the state. Oklahoma’s 2,400,000 drivers means that insurance is not just for regulatory purposes.
Oklahoma requires minimum insurance
Like most states, Oklahoma drivers must have minimum liability insurance. Your financial responsibility to another driver after an accident you caused is called liability. These are the minimum requirements in Oklahoma:
- $25,000 individual personal liability coverage to cover costs related to a single accident
- To cover all injuries sustained in an accident, $50,000 of personal liability coverage
- $25,000 property damage liability, to include damages to other cars and stationary objects
You may be required to have collision and comprehensive coverage if you lease or loan your car. This will cover damages to your car in the event of an accident. Liability covers only the other driver. Consider purchasing more liability than your minimum, as costs can quickly mount after a serious accident.
Driving without insurance in Oklahoma can result in severe penalties
About 13.4% of Oklahoma’s drivers drive illegally and don’t have the minimum auto insurance. A ticket may be issued to unlicensed drivers for not having insurance. However, the penalties could include fines and even imprisonment. Oklahoma law allows you to be fined up $250 for driving without insurance. However, it is unlikely that this will be your first offense. In some cases, you could be sent to jail for as long as 30 days.
Your driver’s license could be suspended. This means that you may not legally drive your vehicle on the roads. The registration of your vehicle may be suspended, and your vehicle may be impounded. Administrative fees and other costs are common to reverse both suspensions.
Oklahoma’s online insurance verification program charges fees
Oklahoma’s Compulsory insurance verification system (OCIVS), allows police officers to verify your insurance status in real-time, such as if you are stopped or involved in an incident.
This allows law enforcement to quickly check your insurance status. However, it does not mean you don’t need your insurance card. It is legal to have your insurance card with you when you drive. The following fees may be associated with driving without insurance:
In an accident and not having insurance
Even if you have auto insurance, it is not a good idea to get into an accident. Even if the accident is not your fault, accidents involving drivers who aren’t insured can prove financially disastrous.
You may be eligible to recover your expenses from the insurance policy of the other driver if you are not responsible for the accident. You would still be subject to the penalties and fees that are applicable to uninsured motorists. Your license could be suspended or revoked, and you could be sent to prison for up to 30 days.
You would be legally responsible for any costs related to the accident if you are at fault for it, such as medical costs or lost wages. If you consider the fact that serious accidents can result in medical expenses exceeding thousands of dollars, insurance is a smart financial decision. The average cost of a new car in America is over $40K. Property damage can quickly escalate.
Questions frequently asked
False insurance information can result in you being sued
False information about your insurance is not a way to avoid fines or penalties if you are caught driving in Oklahoma without insurance. Police can instantly identify if you have an active insurance policy by using the OCIVS database. The state’s OCIVS computer database will allow police to identify active policies within seconds.
What is the cost of Oklahoma car insurance?
The average cost of Oklahoma car insurance is $423 for minimum coverage, and $1,873 to cover full coverage which includes collision and comprehensive. Oklahoma’s minimum coverage is lower than the $565 national average, but full coverage costs more than the $1,674 average in the United States. Costs will vary depending upon many factors.
Which company offers the best auto insurance in Oklahoma?
There are a number of nationally-recognized companies writing auto policies in Oklahoma, including Allstate, Geico and others. You want to find the best company that provides the coverage you require, the highest level of customer service, and the lowest prices. To determine which company is best for you, it is a good idea to request quotes.
Which Oklahoma state has the lowest car insurance?
The cheapest auto insurance quote in Oklahoma might not be the same one as the one your neighbor got. Or, the coverage may not suit your needs. Your personal situation, including your marital status and your age, will impact the price of your quote. To find the best deal, get multiple quotes from top insurers and compare them all.
Table of Contents