Finding car insurance in Wyoming after a DUI

A driving under the influence (DUI citation) can have serious consequences. One of these is higher car insurance rates. Your Wyoming DUI conviction will result in your car insurance premium rising by 91% on average. This is slightly less than the national average rate rise of 99%.

Drunk driving statistics indicate that drivers who have received a DUI or DWI are more risky to insure. Therefore, car insurance companies raise their premiums until they can prove safe driving habits. It is possible to get affordable car insurance in Wyoming after a DUI.

Wyoming DUI laws

Wyoming DUI convictions can result in severe penalties. A first offense of DUI in Wyoming can land you up to six months imprisonment and a maximum $750 fine. A maximum of one year could be served for driving while accompanied by a child if you are pulled over. The jail sentence and the fine for subsequent offenses can be significantly increased.

Drivers with a BAC above.15 are required to install an ignition lock device in their vehicle for a first offense. Drivers who are convicted of a second DUI offense in Wyoming must also install an ignition interlock system.

A Wyoming DUI penalty also applies to drivers convicted of DUI or DWI. They will lose their driving privileges. For a first offense, your license will automatically be suspended for 90-days. If you are convicted of a second or third offense, your license may be suspended for up to one year. You will need to show proof of insurance and a SR-22 certificate in order to have your license restored.

Wyoming DUI and car insurance

A DUI in Wyoming can have a significant impact on your car insurance premiums. A DUI will result in a Wyoming driver’s car insurance premium increasing by 91% on average. Wyoming’s average rate rise is slightly lower than the 99% average in the United States.

A Wyoming DUI typically stays on your driving record for at least three years. You will be charged much higher car insurance premiums during this time. Your premium will return to the normal level after three years, barring any traffic violations, claims, or changes in your personal circumstances. Your insurance company could refuse to renew your policy, or deny coverage if your DUI is reported.

A second thing to remember is that Wyoming drivers must have an SR-22 certificate of insurance after a DUI. SR-22 insurance does not constitute an insurance policy. It is a proof of insurance that you have met the state’s minimum requirements. Providers that specialize in non-standard auto insurance can offer SR-22 insurance.

After a DUI in Wyoming, you can find car insurance

It can be hard to find car coverage after a DUI in Wyoming. However, it is possible to obtain relatively affordable coverage. Begin by looking for providers that will cover drivers with a DUI record. Next, get quotes from several insurance companies. Here are some examples of quotes from the largest companies in Wyoming for drivers with one DUI:

Look for multiple discounts when you are searching for an insurance company. Insurance companies will reduce your rate if your auto and home insurance policies are combined. They also offer discounts if you pay all your premiums in full, sign up for automatic payments, and take a defensive driving class.

Questions frequently asked

What will a Wyoming DUI do to my criminal record?

A DUI conviction in Wyoming, like many other states, will be recorded on your criminal record. It will remain there until you have it expunged. While a DUI conviction for the first time is typically a misdemeanor in Wyoming, a second or more DUIs could result in a felony charge, which can have more severe consequences. Wyoming felony convictions can’t be erased from your record. A DUI will not remain on your Wyoming driving record for more than ten years. In many cases, insurance rates will drop to pre-DUI levels within three to five years.

What is the cost of an SR-22 in Wyoming?

Wyoming SR-22 insurance certificates are affordable, but your premiums may be higher if the applicant is high-risk. The SR-22 is not insurance and does not require you to pay a monthly premium. In Wyoming, the filing fee for the paperwork is typically $50. For each year the SR-22 must remain on your record, you might have to pay a renewal charge.

What happens if my insurance coverage is lost after a DUI conviction?

It is possible for your insurance company to refuse to renew your policy if you have been convicted of a DUI in Wyoming. It is possible that your insurance company will not insure you if you have a DUI. We recommend that you look for non-standard insurance companies, which specialize in insurance for high risk drivers.