When was the Florida FR44 filing for insurance effective? What are the requirements for one? What type of policies are eligible for compliance?
A person convicted in Florida of DUI must maintain an increased limit of vehicle accident liability coverage as of October 1, 2007. Minimum amounts for vehicle accident liability coverage are $100,000 per person, $300,000.00 per accident of Bodily Injuries Liability, and $50,000 for Property Damage Liability. An additional $300,000 combined limit is acceptable. A Florida policy must provide the liability. This could be a policy that covers a vehicle, or an operator’s policy. A policy that covers a vehicle less than 4 wheels is not eligible, as it does not provide Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
You can be flexible and comply with many types of policies. As a policyholder or as an additional driver, the convicted driver can secure a good one. A youthful driver will often be able to get a lower rate for being an additional driver under their parent’s policy. A scooter insurance policy that cost $100.00 per year was a good alternative. Florida does not allow this type of filing.
Are all Florida DUI drivers required to have FR44 insurance? What is the duration of this requirement?
To be cleared for a FR44 DUI license reinstatement case, a driver who was indicted for the infraction before November 1, 2014 must show proof of increased vehicle liability insurance of 100/300/50k at the time of the offense. All DUI convicted drivers will have to maintain a FR44 plan for three years.
What is the process for restoring my license once I have purchased a policy? How does the Florida DMV know that I have satisfied my FR44 requirements? What is the best way to get the FR44 certificate at the point of sale?
The company submits the FR44 certificate (certificate) to Florida’s Bureau of Financial Responsibility. They are sent electronically within 15 days of their beginning, as required by law. Companies usually transmit the licenses to the bureau at the point of sale. The DMV database will then update within 24 to 48 hours to allow for reinstatement.
Some companies will issue a “hardcopy” certificate at the point of sale. This can be combined with proof that insurance and faxed from an agency or company with an identification cover page to a local DMV office. This is the fastest way for a convicted driver to have their license restored.
The FR44 certificate is sent electronically by companies to the State. It takes a special request for one to be issued to the policyholder. It takes approximately 2 hours to complete. You should check if the certificate is available immediately if you’re in a rush.
What is the cost of this? Is there an additional filing fee or reinstatement fee?
For everyone, there is a $25.00 filing charge. Drivers who did not have an increased liability limit of 100/300/50k at the time of the DUI will need to pay a license reinstatement fee. The cost of the entire process is affected by many factors, including age, location, and vehicle type. An operators policy, or non-owners policy that does not include a vehicle is usually the cheapest way to get FR44 insurance. Drivers who have access or require an interlock device are not eligible for this type of policy.
Can I cancel my insurance policy? Can the insurance company cancel? Can I cancel and replace the insurance company with another one?
All policies that have a Florida FR44 file cannot be cancelled as of May 4, 2012. Companies can only cancel within the first 30 days after determining eligibility. There are many reasons to cancel a policy, including moving to another state, selling your car, or getting married. A policy can be cancelled by submitting an endorsement to remove the FR44 file from an existing policy. If the FR44 filing requirement remains in force, the policy can be cancelled. Otherwise, your driver’s license may be suspended. You may be required to give a recorded sworn statement when cancelling. This will indicate your reasons and the plan to continue complying with the policy. All restrictions can be removed from a policy if you have not met your compliance requirements within the policy’s time frame.
Can I have a monthly payment plan? Is full payment required by the State of Florida? Can I have multiple policies?
Companies will be required to pay the full amount because they can’t be cancelled. The state does not have a mandate to require payment in full, unlike the cancellation provision. Companies are generally not allowed to cancel policies for non-payment. They will therefore not offer payment plans. There are some companies that, in certain circumstances, will offer a payment plan. One company recently started offering installment plans for renewing policies. Companies offer a significant discount for paying in full, and the FR44 requirements does not negate that discount. A driver can only file one policy per year, but a driver can have multiple policies, which gives them more flexibility.