The state of New Hampshire expected that car insurance rates in 2007 would decrease by as much as 1 percent. This is the first NH auto insurance rate decline since 1999. It’s a great time to compare rates with top-rated New Hampshire car insurance companies in order to find the best NH car policy rate. You should get to know the New Hampshire insurance market before you shop around. Rates can differ greatly from one company.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws
New Hampshire has a tort system of law for car accidents. This means that the person responsible for causing an accident must be proven to be at fault. This also means that you and your insurance company will be responsible for any damages resulting from the collision if you are found to have caused it.
You should be aware that Tort systems can vary from one state to the next. For more information or questions about New Hampshire’s Tort system, you may want to call your New Hampshire Department of Insurance at 1-852-3416.
New Hampshire Minimum Auto Insurance requirements
New Hampshire law requires that you have bodily injury liability coverage in an amount not less than $25,000 per person and up to $50,000 per accident.
Bodily injury liability coverage covers you and any other driver on your car insurance policy who are found to be at fault for an accident that results in injuries or deaths. The insurance company will pay medical expenses and lost wages as well as legal defense costs, up to the limits of your policy. If the costs are beyond your policy limits, you may be responsible for any additional medical expenses or repair costs.
In New Hampshire, you must also have at least $25,000 property damage liability coverage. Your insurance company will cover the cost of repairs or replacements to any property that is damaged by another person, including fences, cars, or homes, if you or another driver are found at fault in an accident.
Although it is not required by New Hampshire law to purchase at least $5,000 of medical payment coverage, you may want to do so. You might want to purchase as much medical payment coverage and as many as you can afford, as medical costs are rising rapidly.
In addition, you might want to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage of at least $25,000. In the event of an accident, uninsured/underinsured car insurance protects you from medical, repair, and legal costs that may be associated with an accident caused by a underinsured or uninsured driver.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance: The Cost
New Hampshire’s drivers determine the price of car insurance. Insurance companies might take the cost of all drivers and split it among all of them. The costs are not evenly distributed. Your driving record, whereabouts you live, age, and type of car will all impact the percentage you pay for New Hampshire car insurance. It is possible that not all New Hampshire car insurers calculate their rates in this manner. Therefore, it may be worth doing some research.
Carefully Compare New Hampshire Car Insurance Rates
Take your time when shopping. Before making a decision, it is wise to compare the policies and agents of different agencies. Make sure you understand the product before buying. Ask questions and get explanations about anything you don’t understand. Do not accept pressure tactics from agents. Report harassment by agents or insurance companies to the New Hampshire Department of Insurance.
You can get as much or as little coverage as you want, but it’s a good idea to have as much as you can afford. This will protect your family and you from financial liability if you aren’t properly insure.
Get Auto Insurance Quotes Online in New Hampshire
You can enjoy the beautiful Granite State of New Hampshire. But before you get behind the wheel of your car you might want to ensure you are covered. Compare car insurance quotes online for NH from at least three companies to get the best rate.