You will need to have active car insurance in Connecticut to drive legally. Connecticut has severe penalties for drivers who drive without insurance. It is important that you meet the minimum requirements for car insurance. To protect your finances, you may want to add coverage. These are the essential facts to make sure you don’t get fined or face legal consequences.
Connecticut requires minimum insurance
Connecticut car insurance law requires that drivers have the following insurance coverage
- Minimum $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage
- Property damage liability coverage that covers at least $25,000 per accident
- A minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Bodily injury coverage pays for medical expenses and death of other parties in an accident you cause. Property damage liability covers repairs to any property you cause. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is designed to pay for your medical bills if you are injured in a hit-and-run or by a driver without the minimum required insurance coverage.
These coverages do not cover your medical expenses, or vehicle repairs after an accident. Comprehensive and collision coverage are required if you are at fault. The State of Connecticut Insurance Department strongly encourages drivers to buy higher limits of liability coverage.
Driving without insurance in Connecticut carries a heavy penalty
You will be fined $50 for driving in Connecticut without proof of insurance. There are also additional fees of up to $117. The penalties for driving without insurance or lending your vehicle to another person who doesn’t have it are even worse.
In Connecticut, Class C Misdemeanors are defined as operating or allowing another person to operate your vehicle without insurance. As a result, you can expect the following:
- You, the vehicle owner, would face a $500 penalty, up to three months imprisonment, or both.
- A fine of $100 to $1,000 will be assessed to the driver of the vehicle.
- A commercial registration can increase the penalty to $5,000 and could result in up to five years imprisonment.
- Your registration and driver’s license will be suspended one month after your first offense, and six months for each subsequent offense.
- You could have your vehicle impounded until you provide proof of insurance.
- To get your license restored, you will need to provide proof of insurance and $175.
Online insurance verification system in Connecticut: Fees
Even if your car isn’t in use, you must still have active insurance. Your insurance provider will notify the DMV if your insurance policy is canceled. You will receive a Notice to Registration Suspension.
You can avoid suspension by paying a $200 civil penalty if you do not contest the notice. The DMV can suspend your driver’s licence if you do not respond within 30 days. You will need to appear at a hearing and provide proof of your new insurance coverage.
It may also be impounded if you are caught by a police officer driving uninsured or parking in public areas. In this instance, you will be required to pay storage and towing fees until proof of insurance is provided.
|Reason for the fee||The fee amount|
|After an insurance lapse, consent agreement||$200|
|Towing charges||$105 light-duty vehicles plus $4.75/mile for more than two miles|
|Storage fees||$9/day for light-duty vehicles|
In an accident and not having insurance
Uninsured drivers in Connecticut face severe penalties and possible jail time. However, insurance can make it more difficult to pay for damages if you are not covered. Connecticut is considered an at-fault State, so you can be sued for any medical bills or repairs that you caused.
The Insurance Information Institute gives an estimate of the potential cost of an at-fault injury without insurance.
Comprehensive and collision coverage are important, especially if your car is essential for work. If you are involved in an accident, your vehicle will be repaired by you.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if your insurance information is false?
A Class A misdemeanor is when a false insurance card is used. It can lead to up to one year in prison and a $2,000 fine. Because Connecticut has an online system for verifying insurance, you are likely to be caught. It doesn’t matter how much you save, using a fake ID card and driving with no insurance is a risky move.
What is the cost of Connecticut car insurance?
The average cost for car insurance in Connecticut was $794 per year for a minimum coverage policy. It was $1,845 per annum for a full coverage policy. This is slightly more than the national average. If you have an accident or a DUI, you might be charged more . However, you can find lower rates if you shop online for car insurance quotes. To determine the best coverage for you, it’s a good idea speak to an insurance agent.
Which Connecticut car insurance company is best?
Your premium will determine the best car insurer. Sometimes the provider with the lowest premium is not the best. It is worth doing some research to compare rates and coverage, and to determine which auto insurers have a strong reputation for customer satisfaction.