SR-22 in Washington

If you are the owner of an automobile and have had your license suspended for violating the law, you will need to submit a statement to prove your responsibility in order to reinstate your license and allow you to drive again. This form, also known as SR-22 is used to prove financial responsibility following a major traffic violation such as an at fault accident or DUI. SR-22, although it is sold by insurance agencies, is not a form of insurance. It is a certificate that provides liability insurance for high-risk drivers.

Washington car insurance is not cheap. Premiums can be higher for drivers with poor driving records. With some preparation, you can get an SR-22 without spending a lot.

SR-22 Washington

The SR-22 document is issued by an insurance company in Washington DC. It certifies high-risk liability insurance following a traffic violation that results in the suspension of a driver’s license. To reinstate your license, this form must be submitted to the DMV.

An SR-22 is required in the following situations:

  • DUI or DWI
  • Driving without insurance
  • An at-fault accident causing significant damage
  • Speeding up or breaking a signal
  • Recurring traffic violations in a short period of time
ALSO READ  How Many Types of Investment Casting Are There?

You must have insurance on your car to be able purchase an SR-22. An SR-22 will be required if you are caught driving with no insurance. This could lead to higher premiums and even refusal by many insurance companies.

You will be charged with any violation for three consecutive years in Washington. You must be careful with your car insurance payments during this period and keep safe driving. Your insurance company may report you to DMV if you fail to do so. This could result in another suspension of your license.

Washington SR-22 cost

An SR-22 form is a physical document and costs less than $15. The filing fees for an SR-22 are between $15 and $35 in most states and Washington DC. The real cost is the steep increase in your insurance premiums due to the fact that your license was suspended or revoked. High-risk drivers such as DUIs and those involved in extreme accidents are more likely to be charged higher premiums. Your premiums will rise, and the result is commonly known as ‘SR-22 insurance.

ALSO READ  What is Medicaid Insurance? 9 Important Points to Know

You will have to meet all requirements to get your license restored, including the increased premiums and the cost of the SR-22. If you are convicted of DUI, you must show proof that alcohol abuse was treated and that you have made amends. The DMV also requires license reinstatement fees. Washington’s minimum fees are $75 for non-alcohol-related convictions, $150 for alcohol related convictions, and $50 to obtain a probationary driver’s license following a DUI conviction.

Below is a table that shows the average price of Washington full coverage car insurance for those with clean records and after any violations.

Clean recordDUI1 accident1 Speeding ticket
$1,305$2,079$1,545$1,545

Washington drivers who are not owners of SR-22s

You can be involved in a traffic offense without owning a car, but you’ll still need to file an SR-22. An SR-22 can’t be obtained without car insurance. To obtain one, you will need to first purchase a nonowner insurance policy. This policy is for drivers who do not own an automobile. Because it covers the driver only, this policy is cheaper than standard car insurance. Non-owner insurance can be required for a variety of reasons, such as a lapsed car insurance policy, or to protect while renting or borrowing cars. However, the main reason people buy this policy is the ease of filing an SR-22 if necessary.

ALSO READ  Car insurance for Dodges

The provider will file the SR-22 on your behalf if you purchase non-owner car insurance. Non-owner insurance is not available from all insurers and many don’t advertise it. You might have to contact an agent or broker to get a quote from some companies.

Most Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the difference between an SR-22 & an FR-44?

An FR-4 is a similar document to an SR-22, but it is only required in Virginia and Florida. Although it is the same as the SR-22, the requirements are more stringent. Virginia requires that you have at least $100,000 liability insurance to get your license reinstated. This amount can be increased to $300,000. This is the only problem: if you have not been convicted of an offense since 2008, then you do not need an FR44.

What length of time do I have to keep an SR-22?

Washington DC and other states require that the SR-22 be in force for at least three years. Your license could be revoked if you violate the SR-22 or your policy is invalid.

ALSO READ  Everything you need to know about insuring an electric vehicle

Does my state require SR-22 insurance?

Some states do not require SR-22 insurance. These are:

  • Delaware
  • Kentucky
  • Minnesota
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania

If you are moving to these states from a place where an SR-22 was issued, you will need to continue filing in the issuing state until you have finished your time.