SR-22 Virginia

Drivers convicted in Virginia of serious traffic offenses may need an SR-22 certificate to be able to reinstate their suspended license. Often referred to simply as SR-22 insurance. This certificate proves that the driver has the minimum required auto insurance in their state. However, Virginia may require an FR-44 in certain circumstances. This has much more severe consequences that the standard SR-22 forms across other states.

What is “SR-22 insurance?”

Contrary to popular belief SR-22 forms do not constitute insurance. An SR-22 form, which is a certificate filed with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles, is not insurance. It is a special certificate that indicates that you have the minimum required auto insurance in your state. For more serious situations, Virginia uses the form FR-444. This may be used to issue drivers who:

  • Unsatisfied judgments
  • Failure to show proof of insurance
  • You can operate a motor vehicle with no insurance
  • Falsify your auto insurance certificates
  • Convicted for vehicular manslaughter
  • Perjury to vehicle registration or valid driver’s licence
  • Condemne a crime that involves a motor car
  • You are involved in a hit and run
  • You are convicted of driving under the effects, maiming under the influences, driving under the affect of alcohol/drugs, driving on a suspended licence, or guilty in any juvenile case

Drivers will need to prove financial responsibility in order to receive an SR-22 certificate for Virginia. This can be done by purchasing high-risk insurance policies. After you have a qualified insurance policy, inform your carrier about the SR-22 requirement. Once they have completed the form they must submit it to Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. It will be kept on file for at least three years.

SR-22 Virginia Alternatives

Virginia may issue an FR 44 if the offense is severe. These certificates can be issued for driving under the influences, maiming under the effect, driving with a suspended licence, and juvenile convictions. Depending on where you live, an SR-44 may be required or another form according to your state’s guidelines. Below are examples of forms similar to SR-22s which may be required.

FormIssued by the StatesMinimum requirements for insurance
SR-22All other states, except Delaware, Kentucky and Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oklahoma, and PennsylvaniaMinimum insurance requirements vary from one state to the next
FR-19Delaware and MarylandDelaware: $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident/$10,000 per property damage
Maryland: $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident/$15,000 per property damage
SR-21Hawaii$20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident/$10,000 per property damage
SR-22AGeorgia$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident/$25,000 per property damage
FR-44Florida and VirginiaFlorida: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident/$50,000 per property damage
Virginia: $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident/$40,000 per property damage
SR-50Indiana$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident/$10,000 per property damage
  • FR-19 These forms, which are issued in Delaware or Maryland, verify that the driver has the minimum required insurance. FR-19 forms are not required for drivers convicted of more serious driving offenses. They serve as verification of coverage.
  • SR-21: Exclusive to Hawaii, SR-21 forms are used to verify that drivers have the minimum amount of liability insurance required by the state. An SR-21 form may be required for drivers who have been convicted of a DUI or other moving violation.
  • SR-22A Georgia drivers who wish to reinstate a suspended license must file the Georgia Safety Responsibility Insurance Certificate, also known as an SR-22A. These certificates must be valid for at least three years following the date of conviction.
  • F-44: Virginia drivers could be punished more severely by an F-44, depending on the type and severity of their violation. These forms are only available in Virginia and Florida. They increase the minimum coverage requirements of high-risk drivers. Virginia requires that all drivers have an FR-44. This means they must have at least twice the minimum required auto insurance in the state.
  • SR-50 Indiana only issues SR-50 forms if you have been notified by the state that you need one. Drivers are usually notified if they are driving without the minimum insurance required or have had their license suspended.

Non-owner SR-22

You will need to get a non-owners policy if you have an SR-22 requirement, but do not own a vehicle. Non-owners are drivers who don’t own the vehicle they drive. This form will verify that you have the minimum required auto insurance in the state under a non-owners policy. It will also allow you to meet the requirements of an SR-22.

FR-44 Virginia

An FR-44 may be required for drivers who are convicted of a serious crime in Virginia. An FR-44, which is twice the required minimum auto insurance for the state, is different than an SR-22. These convictions require FR-44s:

  • Under the influence, aiming
  • Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol
  • Driving after the driver’s licence has been confiscated for a conviction or guilty conviction in a juvenile matter
  • Violation of federal laws or laws of other states or valid local ordinances similar to the above violations

Virginia requires drivers to have an FR-44. They must also have the following insurance coverage limits:

  • $50,000 per person
  • $100,000 per accident
  • Property damage: $40,000

Virginia Insurance Prices – SR-22

It shouldn’t surprise that high-risk drivers pay higher auto insurance rates than those with desirable driving records. Virginia drivers who file an SR-22, FR-44 or FR-44 certificate will have to pay a $15-$35 filing fee. FR-44 certificates require drivers have double the coverage amount. This can directly impact insurance costs.

Otherwise, the insurance cost associated with SR-22s is more dependent on the driving events that led to the SR-22 requirement. Your rates will usually rise if you have a DUI. Another factor that could affect your insurance costs with SR-22s are if you are no longer eligible for traditional insurance and require a provider who specializes in high-risk insurance. It is always a good idea to shop around for the best rates when looking for high-risk auto insurance policies.

FAQs about SR-22

What length of time do I need an SR-22 Virginia?

SR-22 certificates must be in effect for at least three years from the date of the driver’s conviction or qualifying event.

How can I obtain SR-22 insurance for Virginia?

Finding a policy that covers high-risk drivers is the first step in filing for an SR-22 certificate. Once you have obtained a policy, notify your carrier about the SR-22/FR-44 requirement. Then, they must file the certificate with Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. You should keep the forms on file for three years after your conviction.

What is the cost of SR-22 insurance in Virginia?

“SR-22 insurance” is a misnomer. SR-22s are only proof that a driver has the minimum required auto insurance in Virginia. Depending on a few factors, an SR-22 certificate can cost between $15 and $35 in Virginia. Insurance companies may charge you more for your monthly premiums if you have an SR-22 certificate because drivers with SR-22 certificates are more likely be high-risk.

What is Virginia’s minimum requirement for auto insurance?

Depending on whether you have an SR-22 form or FR-44, the minimum auto insurance coverage that is required for high-risk drivers of Virginia varies. Virginians must have the following information in order to complete SR-22 forms:

  • $25,000 per person
  • $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage: $20,000

However, if a driver needs an FR-44, the minimum coverage will be doubled.

  • $50,000 per person
  • $100,000 per accident
  • Property damage: $40,000