For the more than Maine.
Maine requires minimum insurance
Maine has one of the most stringent minimum car insurance requirements in the nation. You must have minimum:
- $50,000. Per person for bodily injuries
- $100,000 per accident for bodily injuries
- $25,000 per accident to cover property damage
- $2,000 for medical payment
The maximum amount that the insurance company will pay you for any accident you cause, resulting in bodily injury to another person or property damage, is determined by the liability insurance coverage limit. If you are involved in an accident, medical payments will be made for your injuries and lost wages. Consider how much coverage you might need beyond the minimum $2,000 to cover you if you get hurt.
Maine drivers can also provide financial proof to prove their financial responsibility, instead of complying with minimum liability requirements. To qualify, you must file with Secretary of State after having deposited money or securities exceeding the insurance limit. You could be penalized if you fail to file.
Driving without insurance in Maine carries a heavy penalty
It’s no surprise that Maine has stricter penalties for driving without insurance. If pulled over, in an accident, or requested by law enforcement, you will need to show proof of insurance. You can provide proof of insurance in the following form:
- The Secretary of State issues a paper insurance card or a certificate of financial responsibility.
- Digital proof of financial responsibility or insurance
- Photo of the current proof of insurance
Driving without insurance in Maine is defined as driving without proof of insurance if you fail to produce proof of insurance. A Violations Summons & Complaint may be issued and you could be fined anywhere from $100 to $500. The summons and penalty may be waived if you provide proof of valid insurance within 30 days. Indefinite suspension of your vehicle registration and license will be imposed if you fail to produce proof of insurance. A class D misdemeanor could also be brought against you. This carries a maximum $2,000 fine and can result in up to 364 days imprisonment.
Driving without insurance in Maine: Fees
There may be fees if you are caught driving in Maine without insurance. You must immediately surrender your vehicle registration and license if you are found guilty of driving without insurance in Maine. Otherwise, you could face a class E misdemeanor that can lead to up to $1,000 in fines or six months imprisonment.
A $50 reinstatement fee is required to reinstate your vehicle registration and license. There are also $20-30 and $35 fees for new vehicle registrations and licenses. Additionally, you will likely be considered a high risk driver. This could lead to higher car insurance premiums as well as the requirement to file an SR-22 proof-of-insurance certificate for three years.
In an accident and not having insurance
It is a class A misdemeanor if you are involved in an auto accident and find yourself driving without insurance in Maine. This crime can lead to up to six months imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. The Secretary of State may suspend your registration or license indefinitely until financial responsibility has been proven and satisfied for the period it decides.
A judgment against you for an accident resulting in more than $1,000 in property damage or injuries can result in your license being suspended. You have the option to either pay it all or set up an installment plan to repay it. For driving without insurance, all reinstatement fees and requirements are applicable.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
In Maine, providing proof of false information about your insurance is a crime. This is a class E misdemeanor that can result in a $1,000 fine or six months imprisonment.
What is the cost of car insurance in Maine
Although Maine has a higher minimum liability limit than other states, the average car insurance cost is lower. On average, Maine drivers pay $965 annually for full coverage car insurance. However, those with minimum liability limits and no coverage for physical damage pay $294 per annum. Driving without insurance in Maine can be more expensive than buying car insurance. There are stiff penalties, the risk of losing your driver’s license, and the possibility of losing your vehicle registration privileges.
Is Maine a no fault state for car accidents?
Maine is an at-fault State. This means that the at-fault driver is responsible for any injuries or property damage caused by the accident. You may not be able to prove financial responsibility to the Maine Secretary-of-State. It is better to safeguard your assets and financial well-being by purchasing minimum state requirements.
Which is the best Maine car insurance company?
There are many factors that determine the best car insurer. Your car insurance premium will be determined by your driving record, age, car type, and location in Maine. If you are found driving without insurance, you will be considered a high risk driver. Rates could rise if you need an SR-22.